How was your June 2023 ACCA PM exam?
Vote in the Instant Poll
(Comments will be opened after 5PM UK)
ACCA Forums
PM*** June 2023 ACCA PM exam – Instant Poll and comments ***
I thought section A and B were okay-ish, except I personally struggled with the last section B question which was to do with learning rates.
Section C was fine, except the 10-marker about the gears and brakes. Maybe I was using an out-dated workbook or missed a section or maybe I just couldn't work it out, but I genuinely didn't even know where to start. It wasn't a complicatedly worded question but it went straight over my head on what they wanted from me. I wouldn't usually care after an exam but if anyone had the same question I am genuinely intrigued at what your approach was and what you interpreted the question as.
I had the same question with the gears and brakes and to be honest I got so confused - I decided to see what is the incremental cost of buying after deducting all of the cost savings from the production data but I got nowhere :D. Section A and B were alright even though I have many questions which I am not sure. Section C was better but I did not have time to finish one of the balanced scorecard dimension.
The strangest thing in my exam was that there was only 1 question (in part A) regarding variances and I tried to revise as much as I can there since it was the most difficult (from my point of view) and I was really surprised that only one question appeared on the actual exam.
That exam was just evil :’)
Section B was ok. Some of the section A questions were surprisingly tougher than all of the practice questions I’ve done before, including the ones on the ACCA practice platform.
One of the sections C style questions was very nasty. Had to do with currency rate changes between different counties for a travel company. I’ve never had anything like this in any practice questions. Felt so unfair as it’s not in the syllabus on how to deal with exchange rates or currency rate changes. Absolutely evil ? Resit here I come!
Anyone else get this C style question?
Did anyone get an mcq in section A on the total materials mix variance? Was the answer $240 favourable?
The abc mcq in section A was the answer $2.5?
For the relevant costing mcq in section A does anyone remember the answer? Was it C? Something in the 20000s?
Also for the throughput OT case was what was the throughput accounting ratio in part B, the return per hour in part A? And the optimal production units? Were they 450? (In part C)?
Please confirm thanks!!
Yes the brakes and gears question was just ridiculous.
yes i got this question! i think all the questions i had were horrible!
travel company
car tyres
concert
lots of mat yield/mix sales mix volume questions
and many other crappy ones!
So i had the Travel company and relevant costing paper, firstly the section A questions all felt like they were ridiculously hard for how many marks they are worth. The travel question was Okay apart from the currency rate bit agreed as some of the comments not taught or mentioned anywhere in the syllabus but overall i hope they don't deduct many marks for that bit!. Relevant costing felt like it had so many extra paragraphs and notes took me 10 minutes just to read and highlight the case study. Praying for a pass !!!!
Yes Kiran, agree everything you said. Seems we did the same paper. I got travel company and relevant costing in section C. I think I did better in relevant costing than in the travel company question. Was so lost in the travel company and spent an hour on it. Was making good time before that haha. Had no idea what they wanted me to do for the travel company. I’m tempted to raise a formal complaint about that currency rate, if it’s not in the syllabus and the practice platform seems unreasonable for them to expect us to know how to deal with this. I usually perform well in section A and B in all my practice papers, but section A was so much more difficult than any of the practice questions. I pray you pass too and all of us too!
Agreed Dhruvisha. Whoever came up with these exam questions clearly wanted to make us suffer haha
Did anyone get an mcq in section A on the total materials mix variance? Was the answer $240 favourable?
The abc mcq in section A was the answer $2.5?
For the relevant costing mcq in section A does anyone remember the answer? Was it C? Something in the 20000s?
Also for the throughput OT case was what was the throughput accounting ratio in part B, the return per hour in part A? And the optimal production units? Were they 450? (In part C)?
Please confirm thanks!!
I thought I’d found a lot of the questions harder than my bpp test kit and exam practice platform. I also got stuck on Section C 10 mark question about brakes and gears. I wasn’t 100% sure what the question was asking so was a bit challenging to answer lol..Looks like I am not alone in all this, not sure if that makes me feel better or worse:D
I remember that I chose 240 (F) too
There was alot of information to analyse with very little time. I had Cvp Analysis with graphs in section B.
Relevant costing took time to analyse what amount to include or not. Had to analyse Performance between two years, i dont even rem the names of the company. I was very short of time. Relly not sure of a pass mark??
June 2023 PM question:
Could anyone answer my question along with calculations please?
A standard cost card mix for 5units is as below:
Mat A 5 kg @$30/kg
Mat B 3kg @$30/kg
The actual mix is 100 kg and actual output is 100 units costing total cost $1560. There are no material price variance.
Q) What is the Material mix variance?
Section Awas quite manageable
I struggled with section B on variances and CVP.
but for section C I got relevant costing which I could not attempt because I never understood this chapter and then I got the question on performance analysis. It was about the manager offering flights and accommodation which I tried to work it out by do not know whether it is sufficient to get a pass.
even i got this question but i think that my answee was wrong
Can someone tell me in the concert Section B question if the answer of the maximum budgeted profit is 37500???
And i am pretty sure the margin of safety for the concert questions was 33% because the private boxes had a fixed cost of 75*4=300 (waiters fees was charged regardless of whether all 4 boxes are in use or not) and another fixed cost of 1200 mentioned in the question. So in total 1500 (Fixed Cost) and each private box generated a contribution of (600-100=500) so the breakeven was 3 private boxes and the margin of safety if all of them are in use is 2000-1500/1500*100 which is 33.333333% rounded of to 33 percent.
For the relevant costing in section C, did anyone else put 0 for skilled labour as there was spare capacity, and 0 for the supervisor as I figured they were considered fixed costs?
Could someone please explain the response for the 3 non financial factor before accepting order from Lithium one where we had to fulfil it for Cobalt? Whether Contractual Commitments, Knock on effect on other products and Reputation/Goodwill in Market been affected in case not accepting Lithium order would have been correct?
Wait, are our exam questions different from each other? My Section C first topic was about relevant cost of making 500 bags. Second topic is about discussing performance of travel package to Europe and North America.
@naresa it was something like should the contract be accepted and discuss. Something along the lines of that. Never got to complete part b of the relevant costing
Please someone help on my question too really scared :(
@acca9898 i didn’t get that question in my PM exam sorry
@sokkit I had those exact questions too. The bags and travel company
environmental impact of over sees travel.
quality of the product they produce not being up to standard.
delays travelling through foreign borders.
that's what I put down
The 10 marker in Section C on Gears and Brakes made no sense at all to me.
They gave us the yearly production, and the total costs associated to it.
The brakes' Direct Labour Cost was 125,000 while the Gears' Direct Labour Cost was 250,000.
Then the case study said that Direct Labour Cost was limited to 375,000.
Then they said that a new client wants 20,000 Brakes and 20,000 Gears; the case study specifically says that this would be on top of all the other production. They can alternatively import this from overseas.
But if production is limited by Direct Labour costs being 375,000, and the new client wants production on top of it, then surely ALL of the gears and brakes for the new client have to be outsourced to overseas? The normal production already takes up the Direct Labour Cost limit (125,000 + 250,000 = 375,000). So there is no room to make 20,000 gears and 20,000 brakes.
If anyone could explain where I'm wrong above that would be great!
Both section A and B was hard
Section C was better about relevant costing and performance for airline
Skilled labour was overtime as contract limit 2 weeks
Supervision is 0
does anyone remember the relevant costing mcq in section A? We had to find the relevant cost of material?
and for the total material mix variance in section A, there were options of $240 favorable, $400 adverse, $400 favorable and $240 adverse, what did you guys choose?
and for the throughput ot case did you guys choose 450 units for optimum production? and 2.0 as the TPAR?
Topic lockedNew replies are closed.
