A company has fixed costs of $1.3 million. Variable costs are 55% of sales up to a sales level of $1.5 million,
but at higher volumes of production and sales, the variable cost for incremental production units falls to
52% of sales.
What is the breakeven point in sales revenue, to the nearest $1,000?
a. $ 1.977 m
b. $ 2.027 m
c. $ 2.708 m
d. $ 2.802 m
Hi John, I find it confusing on how I need to use the 48% of sales as the denominator to get the excess amount of sales needed to breakeven. Please advise. Thanks!
Ask the Tutor ACCA PM
Breakeven Sales Revenue
If the variable costs are 52% of sales, then for every 100 sales revenue the variable costs are 52.
Therefore for every 100 sales revenue, the contribution is 100 - 52 = 48.
So the CS ratio is 48/100 = 48%. So, as explained in my free lecture, the sales need to be fixed costs/48% (although here this only applies to the extra sales over and above 1.5M)
Sign into reply to this topic.
