Skip to content

Ask the Tutor ACCA PM

Breakeven Sales Revenue

JJeremy9y ago
A company has fixed costs of $1.3 million. Variable costs are 55% of sales up to a sales level of $1.5 million, but at higher volumes of production and sales, the variable cost for incremental production units falls to 52% of sales. What is the breakeven point in sales revenue, to the nearest $1,000? a. $ 1.977 m b. $ 2.027 m c. $ 2.708 m d. $ 2.802 m Hi John, I find it confusing on how I need to use the 48% of sales as the denominator to get the excess amount of sales needed to breakeven. Please advise. Thanks!
John MoffatJohn MoffatTutor9y ago#1
If the variable costs are 52% of sales, then for every 100 sales revenue the variable costs are 52. Therefore for every 100 sales revenue, the contribution is 100 - 52 = 48. So the CS ratio is 48/100 = 48%. So, as explained in my free lecture, the sales need to be fixed costs/48% (although here this only applies to the extra sales over and above 1.5M)
Sign into reply to this topic.