Learn or revise key terms and concepts for your ACCA exams using OpenTuition interactive ACCA Flashcards
ACCA flashcards are interactive and only work on line, flashcards are NOT downloadable/printable
See also ACCA F2 flashcards: Set 2 | Set 3 | Set 4
An incremental cost is an extra cost (and is relevant for investment decisions).
The three ‘E’s’ are:
- Economy
- Efficiency
- Effectiveness
Benchmarking is the comparison with best practice.
The four perspectives are:
- Financial
- Customer
- Internal
- Innovation and learning
RI = profit less notional interest on the capital invested
ROI = profit / capital invested
The dividend cover = profit after tax / dividends
The interest cover = profit before interest and tax / interest
The quick ratio = (current assets – inventory) / current liabilities
The current ratio = current assets / current liabilities
The four main elements are:
- Purpose
- Strategy
- Culture
- Values
Possible reasons for an adverse material expenditure variance include:
– paying more than the budgeted price per unit of materials due to errors in purchasing
– a price increase in materials
– purchasing better quality materials
– incorrect budgeting of the standard cost of materials
The operating statement shows why the actual profit differs from the budgeted profit.
The sales volume variance measures the effect on the budgeted profit of the difference between the actual sales volume and the budgeted sales volume.
Bottom-up budgeting is where lower level managers are involved in the budget process – they prepare budgets for their departments which are then checked and co-ordinated by higher level management.
Top-down budgeting is where the budgets are prepared by high-level management and then communicated to lower levels.
Lower level management do not participate in the budget process.
The IRR is the rate of interest at which the Net Present Value of the project is zero.
The payback period is the number of years it takes to get back the original investment, in cash terms.
A sunk cost is a cost already incurred (and is not relevant for investment decisions)
Capital expenditure is the acquisition of non-current assets (which appear on the Statement of Financial Position)
Revenue expenditure is the payment of running expenses (which appear on the Income Statement)
The principal budget factor is the factor that limits the level of activity of the organisation (usually sales).
A flexed budget is a budget re-written for the actual level of activity.
Planning
Control
Co-ordination
Authorisation
Communication
Motivation
Evaluation
A Paasche index number uses current year quantities.
A Laspeyre price index number uses base year quantities.
If there is perfect negative correlation, then r will equal -1.
It means that 75% of the changes in y are explained by changes in x.
The coefficient of determination is the square of the coefficient of correlation.
Perfect positive linear correlation means when the observations are plotted on a graph they all lie exactly on a straight line pointing upwards (i.e. both variables increase together)
r is the coefficient of correlation
n is the number of pairs of observations
Prevention costs (the costs of improving the quality of the production process)
Appraisal costs (the costs of quality control checks)
Internal failure costs (the costs of re-working; the costs of rejects)
External failure costs ( the costs of delivering poor quality to the customer – e.g. replacements, repair work)
‘Get it right first time’ – i.e. good quality production – no re-working, no rejects
Continuous improvement
Customer focus
The cost gap is the excess of the estimated actual cost over the target cost.
The target cost is the maximum cost we can allow in order to achieve the target level of profitability based on a pre-determined selling price.
A cost driver is whatever activity is causing the cost to occur.
* Intangibility – the output of a service industry is performance rather than tangible goods.
* Perishability – a service cannot be stored
* Simultaneity – a service is received by the customer at the same time as it is delivered – it cannot be checked first.
* Heterogeneity – every service is likely to be different.
A by-product is output from a process which has a low value relative to the main product(s) being produced in the process.
Abnormal gains and losses are valued at full cost per unit.
An abnormal gain is the amount by which the actual loss is less than the normal (or expected) loss.
An abnormal loss is the excess of the actual loss over the normal (or expected) loss.
A normal loss is the loss that is expected to occur.
A mark-up is when the profit is calculated as a percentage of cost; a margin is when the profit is calculated as a percentage of selling price.
The profits will be the same if there is no change in the level of inventory over the period (i.e. when the closing inventory is the same level as the opening inventory).
The difference is because of the difference in the way opening and closing inventories are valued. Under marginal costing they are valued at the marginal (variable) cost of production; under absorption costing they are valued at the full cost of production (variable plus fixed).
The marginal cost of production is the total of all variable production costs.
The contribution is the profit before fixed costs (or the revenue less all variable costs).
The actual overheads are less than the total overheads absorbed.
Allocation – whole cost items are charged to the relevant cost centre
Apportionment – cost items are shared/divided between several cost centres
The labour production volume ratio = expected hours to produce actual output / total hours available (budgeted) x 100%
Labour capacity ratio = Number of hours spent working / total hours available x 100%
Idle time ratio = idle hours / total hours x 100%
Labour efficiency ratio = expected hours to produce actual output / actual hours to produce actual output x 100%
Labour turnover ratio =
number of leavers who require replacing / average number of employees x 100%
Employees are paid a fixed amount for each unit produced.
Direct labour costs are directly involved in the making of products – the basic pay plus overtime premium on specific jobs
Indirect labour costs are all other labour costs – general overtime premiums, bonus payments, and the cost of indirect workers (e.g. canteen, maintenance)
When we are producing our own inventory and therefore deliveries arrive over a period instead of all at once.
The re-order quantity is the quantity actually ordered each time. The re-order level is the level of inventory that triggers the placing of an order.
Ch represents the cost of holding one unit for one year.
D represents the total demand per year.
Co represents the cost of placing one order.
FIFO and Weighted Average Cost are allowed by IAS 2. LIFO is not allowed.
FIFO means first-in-first-out and means that we assume that items are issued out of inventory in the order in which they were received into inventory. Therefore, any closing inventory is assumed to be made up of the most recent items received into inventory.
A delivery note is included by the supplier with the goods, and lists the quantity of goods that are being delivered.
A purchase requisition form is prepared by the department that requires the material and is sent to the purchasing department.
A cost centre is a production or service location, activity, function or item of equipment for which the total cost can be calculated.
A cost unit is a unit of product or service for which the cost is calculated.
The gradient of the line would be ‘b’.
The variable cost per unit is ‘b’ in the equation
The fixed cost is ‘a’ in the equation
The dependent variable is y
The dependent variable would be the sales revenue (it depends on the amount of advertising expenditure.)
A semi-variable cost is a combination of variable and fixed costs.
A stepped fixed cost is one that is fixed in total within a certain level of activity, but where once an upper limit of activity is reached then a new higher level of fixed cost occurs.
A fixed cost is one which remains constant in total over certain levels of activity.
A variable cost is one which varies in total with the level of activity.
Indirect costs are those costs which cannot be specifically identified with a specific cost unit or cost centre.
The prime cost is the total of the direct costs of a unit.
Direct costs are those that can be specifically measured in each unit of production.
A pie chart is a circle that is divided into segments representing each type of observation. The size of each segment is proportional to the proportion of the total that are within each type of observation.
The line that most nearly goes through all the points when the data is plotted on a graph.
The population is stratified and a sample of each strata is restricted to a fixed number.
Every n’th item is selected, after a random starting item
Each item in the population has an equal chance of being selected.
A sampling frame is a numbered list of all items in a population
To enable a selling price to be set
To calculate a profit per unit
To value inventory
Data consists of facts that have been gathered.
Information is data that has been processed in a way that is meaningful to the person who receives it.
Good information should be:
- Accurate
- Complete
- Cost-effective
- Understandable
- Relevant
- Accessible
- Timely
- Easy to use
To help management run the business in a way that achieves the objectives of the business.
Restart deck (bring all cards back)
Deck complete!
You worked through every card. Restart to revise the deck again.


if there is no cash flows given ,can you use the savings as the cash flows
I have no idea what topic of which flashcard you are referring to 🙂
thank you to open tuition, I managed to clear F2 using you notes and lectures. Got 52% first attempt
Congratulations – that is great news 🙂
QuEstion 7 Chapter 4 An organisation operates a piecework system of remuneration, but also guarantees its employees 80% of a time-based rate of pay which is based on $20 per hour for an eight hour working day. Three minutes is the standard time allowed per unit of output. Piecework is paid at the rate of $18 per standard hour. If an employee produces 200 units in eight hours on a particular day, what is the employee’s gross pay for that day? A $128 eB $144 C $160 D $180
200×(3÷60)×18=180
Can someone please help me understand what method was used.?
The standard time is 3 minutes per unit.
200 units were produced, so the standard time for those units is 200 x 3 = 600 minutes (or 10 hours).
They are paid $18 per standard hour, so a total of 10 a $18 = $180.
(The guaranteed minimum is 8hours x $20 = $160, but $180 is above the minimum)
In future, please ask questions like this in either the general F2 forum, or in the F2 Ask the Tutor Forum.
It has nothing to do with the Flashcards.
Sir in the flash cards it’s explained that residual income is profit less notional interest on the capital invested … so now whats the difference between RI and Net profit
sir, i was very fed up about my F2 exam.. i did the exam in November CBE.. i do not have any idea about the FMA and i’m planning to do resit on january.. please provide me a help to get through the exam or the syllabus.. nothing is there i have understood in the F2 syllabus.. 🙁
Did you watch F2 lectures on this website??
Hello,
all syllabus is found on OPentuition including examiners reports.Please check you will found it.
With investment appraisals how do you compute the the internal rate of return when you are not given the cash flows the periods
You can’t (unless the NPV’s have already been calculated for you)!!
Have you watched my free lectures on investment appraisal?
(Please ask this sort of question in the Ask the Tutor Forum, and not as a comment on the flashcards)
Dear Sir,
Please confirm the anwser & explain below:
A Company uses standard marginal costing.Last month , when all sales were at the standard selling price, the standard contribution from actual sales was $50 000 and the following variances arose:
Total variable cost variances $ 3500 adverse
Total fixed costs variances $ 1000 favourable
Sales volume contribution variances $ 2000 favorable
What was the actual contribution for last month?
The actual contribution is 50,000 – 3500 + 1000 = 47,500.
The sales volume variance is not relevant because 50,000 is the standard contribution from actual sales. (if you had been given the budgeted contribution, then the sales volume variance would be relevant).
(I don’t know why you have posted this question here – it is not one of the flashcard questions. Better is to ask questions on the Ask the ACCA Tutor Forums – we cannot read every comment, but we always read the Ask the Tutor questions very regularly)
What is a master budget?When it is prepare before the operational budget or After.
What is dysfunctional manager is ?.
In a canned foods manufacturing what term will be used process, batch, job or joint to be used?
What is a service costing?
The master budget usually comprises a budgeted income statement for the year, a budgeted balance sheet, a cash budget, and a capital expenditure budget. (I say usually, because it is up to the individual company to decide whether or not they find all of the above useful for them, and therefore whether or not they prepare them all).
The master budget is prepared after the operational (functional) budgets – they are the budgets for each individual area (e.g. materials usage budget, labour budget etc..)
‘dysfunctional manager’ manager is not a standard term. However a manager who makes dysfunctional decisions is one who makes decisions that are good for him, but not good for the company as a whole.
There is no rule for a canned food manufacturer (or for any business for that matter) as to what type of costing they use – it is whatever the company feels is more appropriate. However, depending on the exact circumstances, process costing is probably more appropriate.
Service costing is costing for a service business (for example, for a hotel, calculating the costs for one room/night in order to be able to decide on what price to charge per night).
Thank you Sir,
hey, where I can find solutions to the tests provided on your syllabus, to check my answers?
I don’t know which tests you mean. If you mean the tests in the Course Notes, then the answers are at the back of the Course Notes.
If you mean the flash cards, then you can see the answer by clicking on the question.
I mean in the course notes. Thank you very much!!!!
OpenTuition we students can’t thank you enough, you are really helping!!!
when i click on ans question is also not available why?
Ur not a real user
If you click on the question then you get the answer. If you click on the answer then you get the question again.
If that does not work for you then it is a problem at your end. Try another browser.
which other browse?
Google chrome
thank you for providing flash cards for f2 can you kindly provide a mock exam and test centre for f2 this would be really appreciated let me know soon
Sorry, but we do not provide mock exams or a test centre for paper f2 at the moment
when would that be possible there is mock exam for F1 & F3 when will there be for F2
We will prepare one during the summer, but it will not be before the June exams.
in the course notes there r some topics not shown like in the syllabus we have job batch and service costing , some aspects of budgeting like cash budgets and capital expenditure budgeting and standard costing what it is and types of standards like ideal , basic etc
We make it clear that (as with all course notes – ours and those published by other companies) they are not meant to replace Study Texts. They do however contain more than enough to pass the exams provided that you get hold of a Revision/Exam Kit and practice lots of questions).
other cards they dont give the ans please help
try another browser. flashcards work fine
I need mobile version !!
Hi, Compliments to the author!
helpful
Admin, when I click on the answers on the flash cards some of them are blank. Why?
No idea why, you don’t even mention what device / browser you ate using ..,
As always you should Try another browser and see if it works
simple and on point