OpenTuition.com Free resources for accountancy students
Free ACCA lectures and course notes | ACCA AAT FIA resources and forums | ACCA Global Community
ACCA F5 lectures Download OpenTuition F5 notes
May 18, 2016 at 3:51 pm
What’s the definition for complementary products?
April 4, 2016 at 10:18 am
i am sorry if this question hae asked beore.
but it is ok if i will differentiate in exam and show it as a workings?
John Moffat says
April 4, 2016 at 10:32 am
In Section A it doesn’t matter because nobody will look at your workings.
In Section B it is OK because all you will be doing is arriving at the formula for marginal revenue that is given on the formula sheet anyway 🙂
(and you must show that you know the MR = MC cost rule)
April 4, 2016 at 12:04 pm
April 4, 2016 at 2:16 pm
You are welcome 🙂
March 11, 2016 at 4:18 pm
Could you pls tell me why we calculate T.R & T.C ? As M.R formula will be given in exam and M.C is available in example. Without calculating T.R & T.C we can get the answer. Do we need to show calculation for T.R & T.C for a must or we can skip it ?
Kindly correct me if i am wrong.
Thanks for your valuable time and efforts.
March 12, 2016 at 7:52 am
You only need to calculate total revenue and total cost if the question asks for it (which it might).
The reason for showing it in the lecture is to make sense of why the maximum profit occurs when MR = MC. The Paper F5 examiner tests that you understand what is happening – not simply that you know how to use a rule.
March 12, 2016 at 8:20 am
Thank you Sir for reply.
March 12, 2016 at 8:26 am
February 29, 2016 at 1:24 am
I realize that example 3 was not explained. …or did i missed out on it?is it because we wont be tested on price elasticity of demand?
February 29, 2016 at 7:33 am
It could be tested but there is no lecture. The answer in the lecture notes should explain it enough.
May 18, 2016 at 3:48 pm
I realized this too, thanks
May 18, 2016 at 8:06 pm
February 10, 2016 at 12:09 pm
Hi John, to work out the maximum profit on example 6, I did Total Revenue (PxQ) – Total Cost (100000+5Q). I get the same answer, but just wanted to clarify that this is in fact a suitable way to calculate the maximum profit?
Thanks in advance
February 10, 2016 at 12:45 pm
That’s fine – it does not matter how you calculate it 🙂
December 10, 2015 at 12:08 pm
Hello, could you please shortly explain the difference between Product-line pricing and Complementary products?
The lectured example of razors sounds to me more like the pricing of complementary products.
This is an example illustrating my understanding of Product-line pricing: Toyota and Lexus are produced by the same company, but Lexus is more expensive than Toyota as it is supposed to have higher quality (more luxury). So Lexus is priced higher for richer people and Toyota is priced lower for poorer people. And not necessarily the same person will buy both cars (although it is possible) as they are not complementary goods (should not be used together).
December 10, 2015 at 12:13 pm
What you say is correct except that rather than comparing two different models, better is to compare different models of the same car – one with more features and a higher price, and one with fewer features at a lower price.
December 1, 2015 at 1:32 pm
I am confused in Test 1. Total cost is 26 and the company wants to make GPM of 20% using absorption cost. Why B and not C? It is not clear for me even in the answers.
Thank you very much.
December 1, 2015 at 4:30 pm
A gross profit margin is the profit as a % of the selling price. For every 100 selling price, the profit will be 20 and therefore the cost will be 80.
If the cost is 26 then the selling price will be 100/80 x 26 = $32.50
GPM’s are always profit as a % of selling price; mark-ups are always profit as a % of cost.
December 1, 2015 at 4:40 pm
Great explanation and totally clear. Thank you very much!
December 1, 2015 at 4:44 pm
Mashal Khan says
November 7, 2015 at 6:52 pm
Did we miss price elasticity of demand? Is it not in the course ?
November 8, 2015 at 6:44 am
It isn’t lectured, but it is in the lecture notes and should make sense from there.
November 5, 2015 at 3:35 pm
I am realy thankful to you sir, you make this topic too easy for me to understand
THANKS once again
November 5, 2015 at 10:13 pm
Thank you 🙂
September 13, 2015 at 6:07 pm
Makmuqul, the equation is the derivative (differentiation) of the Total Revenue (TR) formula.
Selling Price P = a – bQ
Total Revenue, TR = PxQ = (a – bQ) x Q
= aQ – bQxQ
If we differentiate TR (ie find dTR/dQ) that last equation, we get a – 2bQ.
That is the marginal revenue. That is, the derivative of TR gives the marginal revenue (MR) or the rate of change of revenue for each unit increase in quantity.
So, P is the selling price.
TR = PxQ
MR = derivative/differentiation of TR = a -2bQ.
September 13, 2015 at 10:29 pm
Fine (and I go through this in the lecture and so I don’t know why you have repeated it), except that differentiation is explicitly not examinable in any of the ACCA exams.
That is why the formula for the marginal revenue is given in the exam.
September 10, 2015 at 5:08 pm
I am confused about MR=120-0.002Q
September 10, 2015 at 5:17 pm
The formula is given on the formula sheet, once you have calculated a and b for the price demand equation.
February 25, 2016 at 3:59 pm
is that (50Q)’-(0.01Q^2)’=50-2*0.01Q, so it equals 50-0.02Q .right?
February 25, 2016 at 7:38 pm
Yes – it is using the formula on the formula sheet.
Once you have the price demand equation and therefore know the values of a and of b, then you put the same values in the marginal revenue formula.
September 10, 2015 at 6:09 am
Are the exchange rates of a currency in different countries one of the kind of price discrimination when they are sold by fin.institution with a profit?
September 10, 2015 at 8:42 am
No, because it is not the company who determines the exchange rates. Price discrimination is when they deliberately charge different prices, irrespective of the exchange rates.
September 10, 2015 at 4:08 pm
thank you sir.
September 10, 2015 at 4:28 pm
August 7, 2015 at 2:33 pm
Hello there, Mr. Moffat, I got a question related to the test that is at the end of chapter 7.
Question 1 asks about the selling price of the product, my answer was as follows:
10+8+3+5=26*120%=31.2 which gives the answer C. My answer was based on the assumption that it’s profit margin, since the company wishes to make a gross profit margin of 20%.
But in the answers behind, your solution was based on the assumption as if it’s a mark up which gives the answer B!
Could you please explain how did you reach to that assumption?
August 7, 2015 at 3:32 pm
In future it is better if you ask this sort of question in the Ask the Tutor Forum rather than as a comment on a lecture.
The answer is correct.
A gross profit margin of 20% means that the profit is 20% of the selling price (and therefore the cost is 80% of the selling price).
What you are doing it treating it as though it is a mark-up of 20% which would mean the profit was 20% of cost.
It will help you to watch the Paper F3 lecture on mark-ups and margins.
August 7, 2015 at 6:24 pm
Got it, thanks Mr. Moffat.
August 6, 2015 at 9:15 am
Is understood. Thanks
August 5, 2015 at 8:18 pm
In example 6 where you work out the 1st equation to get P=120 – 0.001Q I dont not understand why, in the next step, to calculate Maximum profit, you then set out the equation as 120 – 0.002 = 5.
Why 0.002 when in the previous equation b = 0.001?
August 6, 2015 at 7:26 am
Because it is the marginal revenue equation. I do explain this in the lecture, and also the formula is given on the formula sheet.
July 15, 2015 at 9:18 pm
i need lecture for price elasticity of demand,,because i enjoy your lecture too much ..i hate BPP text book.
July 15, 2015 at 9:30 pm
I probably will record a lecture – but only when I have the time.
However it is explained well in the lecture notes (and the lectures and the lecture notes go together – using just one or the other is no good)
July 9, 2015 at 2:09 pm
thank you very much sir, am preparing for f5 september 2015 diet and i realy find your lectures helpful. please do i need to still use my bpp exam kit as the kit is too bulky and i go to work everyday or can i just use open tution lecture note and will be sure of passing brilliantly by Gods grace.
July 9, 2015 at 2:40 pm
You must use your Revision Kit because it is vital to practice as many exam standard questions as possible.
The lectures will give you the knowledge you need, but you need the Revision Kit for practice.
July 15, 2015 at 9:13 pm
Dear sir why you not explain price elasticity of demand?
May 31, 2015 at 7:09 pm
love it, thank you for the lectures.
May 31, 2015 at 8:04 pm
I am pleased that you like them 🙂
May 8, 2015 at 6:45 pm
thank you for the lecture, however there is something on example 6 i don’t understand the selling price was not stated either to increase or reduce
May 8, 2015 at 7:02 pm
In pricing questions we always assume that the price/demand relation ship is linear.
Because of that, in this example, if the price goes up by $2 then the demand will fall by 2,000 units, but also, if the price goes down by $2 then the demand will increase by 2,000 units.
April 21, 2015 at 4:18 pm
Sir, is it also that revenue is maximised when marginal revenue = 0?
Thanks in advance.
April 13, 2015 at 4:01 pm
I just noticed on example 6 you did not work out the formulas for total revenues or even total cost…….Does this mean you do not need these to derive at the answer? You can simply work it out from the marginal revenue = marginal cost formula?
Thanks in advance
April 13, 2015 at 4:04 pm
Although you could be asked to calculate total revenue and/or total cost, if you are simply asked to state which selling price will result in maximum profit then all you need to do is use the fact that for the optimum then it is when MR = MC.
April 10, 2015 at 6:19 pm
Very useful ! Thanks a lot
You must be logged in to post a comment.
OpenTuition.com is dedicated to providing all accountancy students throughout the world with the resources they need to study for the major … Learn more