OpenTuition.com Free resources for accountancy students
Free ACCA lectures and course notes | ACCA AAT FIA resources and forums | ACCA Global Community
View ACCA F3 / FIA FFA lectures Download F3 notes
September 11, 2016 at 5:47 pm
Sir, could you please help to explain Q5 in the quiz. How come we need to add back the goods returned? On 4th Jun, the inventory figure should have reflected this 700, shouldn’t we work back by deducting it ?
John Moffat says
September 11, 2016 at 6:55 pm
We wish to calculate the inventory as at 31 May.
They returned goods to the supplier between 31 May and 4 June, so as at 31 May the inventory will have been higher than it was on 4 June.
September 13, 2016 at 4:47 pm
Aiya, I read the question wrongly. Thank you, sir.
September 13, 2016 at 5:52 pm
You are welcome 🙂
February 20, 2016 at 9:25 am
A sole trader fixes her prices by adding 50 per cent to the cost of all goods purchased. On 31 October 20X3 a fire destroyed a considerable part of the inventory and all inventory records.
Her trading account for the year ended 31 October 20X3 included the following figures:
Opening inventory at cost 183,600
Closing inventory at cost 204,600
Gross profit 53,050
Cost of sales = $281,250 x 2/3 = $187,500
Loss of inventory = $228,200 – 187,500 = $40,700
so why is it $281,250 x 2/3 why do we need to multiply 2/3?
February 20, 2016 at 10:17 am
In future you must ask questions like this in the Ask the Tutor Forum, and not as a comment on a lecture.
For every $2 cost, then add on a profit of $1 (50% x $2), and get a selling price of $3.
So for every $3 selling price, the cost is $2. So the cost is always 2/3 x selling price.
February 22, 2016 at 9:26 pm
I almost there!
this is a topic requires a private tutor!
October 28, 2015 at 11:37 am
I am still confused with this question.
stion 4 Chapter 18 Silver Co made sales of $193,200 during the year ended 31 August X1. Inventory decreased by $13,200 over the year and all sales were made at a mark up of 42%. What was the cost of purchases during the year, to the nearest $1,000?
A $149,000 B $136,000 C $123,000 D $109,000
October 28, 2015 at 12:21 pm
If there is a mark-up of 42% then for every 100 cost, the profit is 42 and the sales are 142.
So for sales of 193200, the cost must have been 100/142 x 193200 = 136,056
Of that cost, 13,200 came out of inventory and so the remainder of 122,856 were purchases.
October 28, 2015 at 12:47 pm
Thank you Sir, I got it now
October 28, 2015 at 3:21 pm
September 30, 2015 at 1:32 am
Please do explain question 2 & 3? It’s very confusing too me. I’m having a lot of trouble with it.
September 30, 2015 at 7:27 am
Question 2: We know the inventory on 4 June and we need to work backwards to find out what it was on 31 May. So we need to subtract any purchases made between the dates (8,600) because they were not there on 31 May; we need to add back the cost of any sales made between the dates (70% x 14,000) because they were there on 31 May; and we need to add back any returns made between the dates (700) because they were there on 31 May.
So inventory on 31 May = 836,200 – 8,600 + 9,800 + 700 = 838,100
Question 3: Revenue was understated, so actual revenue is 10,000 higher at 90,000; and actual profit is 10,000 higher at 30,000.
Closing inventory was overstated, so revenue is not affected and stays at 90,000, but cost of sales in understated and therefore profit overstated by 5,000 and should be 25,000.
So profit percentage = 25,000/90,000 = 27.8%
September 27, 2015 at 1:58 pm
I thank you for all the answers above and for your patience.
The answers were very helpfull. I found more info on this site than on class for F3 I participated within the firm.
September 27, 2015 at 2:43 pm
Thanks for the comment – I am please that you find the site useful 🙂
July 6, 2015 at 1:42 pm
Relating to Question 3. Why if the revenue has been understated by 10,000, then both revenue and profit will increase by 10,000 ?
If gross profit is 27,8% (as in answer), by adding $10,000 to the revenue shouldn’t we achieve 2,780 more gross profit ? (and not 10,000) ?
July 6, 2015 at 1:55 pm
At the moment, the profit is 20,000, the revenue is 80,000, and therefore the cost of sales must be 60,000.
However the revenue should be 10000 more. So the revenue should be 90,000, the costs are 60,000 (ignoring the error with the inventory) and therefore the profit should be 30,000.
More revenue automatically means more profit!
After dealing with the inventory error, the correct profit is 25,000. The correct revenue is 90,000 (as above). Therefore the correct gross profit percentage is 25,000/90,000 = 27.8%
Your last sentence does not make any sense – you are asked to calculate the % after correcting the errors.
July 6, 2015 at 4:06 pm
Thank you Sir, I think I get it. Learning with OpenTuition is a pleasure 🙂
July 6, 2015 at 4:21 pm
It’s great to hear that you enjoy it 🙂
June 15, 2015 at 3:08 am
Could you please help me out to solve the following question. A sole trader fixes her prices by 50 per cent to the cost of all goods purchased. on 31 October 20X3 a fire destroyed a considerable part of inventory and all inventory records.
Her trading account for year ended 31 October 20X3 included the following figures:
closing. inv 204,600
Gross profit 53050
June 15, 2015 at 7:12 am
In future please ask this sort of question in the Ask the Tutor Forum and not as a comment on a lecture.
The cost of sales should be 100/150 x 281,250 = 187,500.
At the moment (using the actual inventory that remains) the cost of sales is 228,200.
Therefore the inventory lost = 228,200 – 187,500 = 40,700
(I assume that is what the question wants – you do not say what is required 🙂 )
May 5, 2015 at 12:26 am
chapter 18 question 5
how could the answer be A.185 000
opening inventory is 380000
purchases is 480000
sales is 500000 (650000/130) x 100
the closing inventory should be 360000,
instead it is 220000 so 140 was destroyed in the fire. ho
May 5, 2015 at 7:48 am
The answer is 185,000 – you are wrong!
There is a gross profit margin of 30% and so the cost of sales is 70%x$650,000 = 455,000.
The closing inventory should be 380,000+480,000-455,000 = 405,000
In fact it is only 220,000, so the inventory destroyed is 405,000-220,000 = 185,000.
I suggest that you watch the lecture again. ho
May 5, 2015 at 11:05 am
Ooh no .. My apologies. Swear I saw mark up and not gross profit margin..much thanks
April 2, 2015 at 11:35 am
Good Morning John – Can you kindly give me some insight into test question 3. cheers
April 2, 2015 at 11:48 am
If the revenue has been understated by 10,000, then both revenue and profit will increase by 10,000.
If inventory has been overstated by 5,000, then cost of sales will be understated and therefore gross profit will be overstated. Revenue will not be affected.
February 24, 2015 at 6:15 pm
Good Evening sir. Kindly explain the mechanism (workings) that allows us to determine that some goods costing $2,500 have been stolen in queation 6. Thank you in advance.
February 24, 2015 at 6:28 pm
Could it be that the items stolen, having a value of $2,500 (and potential sales value of $5,000) represent the amount ”Stolen” ( lost in the process of doing business ) from the sales ? It all sounds glitchy here but I am still confused.
February 24, 2015 at 7:47 pm
The sales are 95,000. Because sales are two time the cost, it means the cost of the good sold must have been 47,500.
At the moment, the cost of sales is 40,000 + 60,000 – 50,000 = 50,000.
So it must mean that the goods stolen had cost 50,000 – 47,500 = 2,500
February 24, 2015 at 8:38 pm
I definitely thought so as I laid out a trading income. Thank you once again.
December 8, 2014 at 12:48 pm
Help with question 4 plzzzzz?
December 8, 2014 at 2:48 pm
The sales are 193,200, so the cost of sales were 100/142 x 193,200 = 136056.
Since inventory fell by 13,200, the purchases must have been 136056 – 13200 = 122856
December 9, 2014 at 12:09 am
Thanks alot….. i actually got tht answer but its not one of the choices so i thought i did something wrong….
December 9, 2014 at 12:11 am
Think you guys made a mistake…… 🙂
December 9, 2014 at 7:36 am
No, I think you made a mistake!
If you read the question it asks for the answer to the nearest $1,000 (which is $123,000)
December 9, 2014 at 10:51 am
opppss i missed tht, tht always happen with me, especially in a hurry.
September 13, 2014 at 4:36 pm
Can you please explain question 5 for me.
I inventory 380000, add purchases 480000, minus destroyed inventory 220000 = 640000
Margin % on sale 30% = 650000 / 1.3 = 500000 – 640000 = 140000 Answer B, but he answer is A.
I thinking i’m working out the / 1.3 wrong. Can you also explain how to work the algebraic formula for working this margin out.
September 13, 2014 at 5:39 pm
If there is a margin of 30%, it means that the profit is 30% of selling price.
So…..here, the profit is 30% x 650,000 = 195,000
The cost of sales is 70% x 650,000 = 455,000
The cost of sales = 380,000 + 480,000 – closing inventory.
So the closing inventory should be 405,000.
However the actual closing inventory is 220,000 and so the remainder must have been destroyed in the fire: 405000 – 220000 = 185,000.
Hope that is clear 🙂
September 13, 2014 at 8:41 pm
Thank you. Was getting confused in working the percentage out but very clearly explained. The 30% is profit so 70% is COS, will hopefully make is easier working the other answer out.
June 14, 2014 at 10:29 am
C is correct.
If sales were 281250, then cost of sales is 1/1.5 x 281250 = 187500.
Goods available for sale were 432800, so closing inventory should have been 432800 – 187500 = 245300.
Actual closing inventory was 204600, so lost inventory = 245300 – 204600 = 40700.
June 14, 2014 at 3:12 am
Question: A sole trader fixes her prices by adding 50% to the cost of all goods purchased. On 31 October 20X3 a fire destroyed a considerable part of the inventory and all inventory records. Her trading a/c for the year ended 31 October included the following. $ $ Sales: 281, 250. Opening inventory at cost: 183,600. Purchases: 249,200. Goods available for sales. 432,800. Closing inventory. (204,600) COGS. 228,200 Gross profit 53,050. What inventory loss has occurred? A. $61,050 B. $87,575 C. $40,700 D. $110,850 (my calculations gave me A but the answer according to the revision kit is C)
August 19, 2014 at 10:06 am
hows it worked out?
August 19, 2014 at 10:15 am
The workings are higher up this page (my reply has appeared above the question instead of underneath it 🙂 )
April 21, 2014 at 11:20 am
I know this has been abundantly asked before, and i do understand the concept of question 3, the part i don’t understand is why the sales would increase by 10,000 if revenue increases by the same amount? Ignoring the other discovery (CI overstated by $5000), if we assume the business operates on a fixed gross profit margin (which is the case no?), wouldn’t the gross profit increase by only the gross profit percentage of the revenue?
April 14, 2014 at 7:07 pm
Kindly help with this question
Payables: opening balance = $4,000; closing balance = $5,000. Payments made = $20,000
Receivables: opening balance = $7,000; closing balance = $9,000. All sales are on credit.
Inventory: opening balance = $5,500; closing balance = $2,000.
Gross profit percentage = 25%
How much cash has been collected for from customers?
April 14, 2014 at 7:56 pm
I do not know where you found this question, but either you have typed some of the question wrongly, or the question is wrong because none of the four answers are correct!
(I am guessing that the opening inventory should be $5,000 and not $5,500).
However, using the figures as you have typed them:
From the payable information, you can calculate the total purchases for the year. Best way is to do a t’account for payables – you know the opening and closing balances, you know the cash paid, and so the missing figure will be the purchases. (It comes to $21,000)
Now you know the purchases, you can calculate the cost of goods sold. This is always equal to opening inventory + purchases – closing inventory. (In this example it comes to $24,500).
Now you know the cost of goods sold, and you know the gross profit %, you can calculate the sales figure. It will be 100/75 x cost of goods sold (which in this example comes to $32,667)
Now that you know what the sales are, and you know the opening and closing balances on receivables, you can calculate the cash received from customers. (In this example it comes to $30,667)
(If the opening inventory is actually $5,000 and not $5,500, then the approach remains the same, but you will end up with the cash received as $30,000. which is answer A)
April 15, 2014 at 6:10 am
Thanks, the question is from Fa 2 notes which I have downloaded from open tution, I am confused that if it says gross profit percentage, does it means mark-up or margin ?
April 15, 2014 at 6:27 am
I will check the notes when I get home tonight – maybe there is an error.
Gross profit % means gross margin (i.e % of selling price)
April 15, 2014 at 7:34 am
Opening payables balance = $4,000
Closing payables balance = $6,000
Payments to credit suppliers = $12,000
Cash purchases = $1,000
What is the total purchases figure?
April 15, 2014 at 4:38 pm
I have checked the questions and answers in the FA2 notes, and there are mistakes (it is clear what the mistakes are when you look at the workings in the answers at the back).
In the case of the first problem, the closing inventory in the question should be 2500 (not 2000) and then the correct answer would be 32,000.
In the case of the second problem, the correct answer is 15,000 (credit purchases of 14,000 + cash purchases of 1000).
I do apologise. I will speak to the person who wrote the notes, and have the errors corrected immediately.
Thank you for spotting them 🙂
April 7, 2014 at 10:02 pm
Quick question on test number 1. If sales is 612 at 25% markup that would mean we would then find 100% of this and get 489600. Our closing inventory added on and then subtracting opening sales and inventory gives us 26400 missing…how is it that the answer it says we should get is 57000?
I have been racking my brain for a while on this one.
April 8, 2014 at 6:41 am
But the question says that there is a gross profit % of 25% – not that there is a markup of 25%.
So the cost of sales should be 612000 – (25% x 612000) = 459000.
April 8, 2014 at 7:01 am
Sorry…lol…?This morning I looked at it with fresh eyes. Thanks for the response.
April 1, 2014 at 5:36 pm
Dear sir, i have a little problem with example 2
Peter has sales of dollar 120,000. his gross profit is 20%.
your working is
Profit 20% of 120,000 is 24,000
so cost of sales is 96,000.
But i have a little problem with 20% of 96,000 is 19,200 profit and the total will be 115,200 (why ?)
but if it is done like this: 100/120 x 120,000 = 100,000 cost of sales
20% of 100,000 = 20,000 and therefor 100,000+ 20,000 = 120,000
Is it right the way i have done it?
April 1, 2014 at 7:47 pm
A margin (or gross Profit %) is always a % of sales.
A mark-up is always a % of cost.
So…if sales are 120,000 and there is a gross profit (or margin) of 20%, then the profit is 20% x 120,000 = 24,000.
February 6, 2014 at 7:31 pm
please can the 2&3 from the test be explained?
For question 2 I had the inventory total of $836200
add : purchase of goods $8600
less sales of goods $14,000
less goods returned $700
the revised inventory total of $830,100
which I have obviously calculated incorrectly as it is not one of the options but after looking at the answers I am unable to see how you would arrive at the figure of $838,100.
For question 3
I increased the revenue total by $10000 to $90,000
I decreased the gross profit by $5000 to $15,000
I calculated the percentage as 16.67 which is option B but after looking at the answers I am unable to understand how the answer is 27.8%.
thanks in advance
February 7, 2014 at 8:41 am
For question 2, you have made a couple of mistakes.
Firstly, you should be working backwards. The inventory of 836200 is on 4 June – you need to work backwards to find out what it was on 31 May.
So….since they made purchases after 31 May of 8,600, it means that the inventory on 31 May was 8,600 less than it was on 4 June. Similarly you need to add the sales that were made after 31 May and add goods that were returned to the supplier.
Also, inventory is valued at cost, so when you are adding back the sales they need adding back at cost. $14000 is the selling price and so the cost was 70% x 14,000 = 9800.
The inventory at 31 May was therefore 836200 – 8600 + 9800 + 700 = $838,100
For question 3, what you have done is correct, except that you have forgotten that if the revenue is 10,000 higher then the profit will also be 10,000 higher. This means that the revised profit will be $25,000 and therefore the profit percentage will be 25000/90000 = 27.8%
February 7, 2014 at 1:05 pm
Thank you for the prompt response and the explanation. It makes sense now
February 7, 2014 at 3:04 pm
You are welcome 🙂
I am pleased that you are OK with it now.
Anne Mohammed says
November 23, 2013 at 7:08 pm
a sole trader fixes her prices by adding 50 per cent to the cost of all goods purchased. on the 31 october 20×3 a fire destroyed a considerable part of the inventory and all inventory records. her trading account for the year ended 31 october 20×3 included the following figures:
opening inventory at cost 183600
less:closing inventory at cost 204600
gross profit 53050
using this information, what inventory loss has occurred?
Can someone hep me with the workings of this question.
Amna Zaman says
November 16, 2013 at 12:46 pm
Please explain me question Question 4 from the test.
November 16, 2013 at 1:45 pm
Since the sales are made at a markup (profit on cost) of 193200, the cost of sales is 193200/1.42.
When you have the cost of sales you can adjust by the change in inventories to get the purchases.
November 16, 2013 at 1:56 pm
This is the problem where I got stuck. Please explain how to adjust inventories when we don’t know purchases?
November 16, 2013 at 1:58 pm
But you know the cost of what you sell. If you also increase your inventories you will need to purchase more, if you reduce your inventories then you need to purchase less.
November 18, 2013 at 1:30 pm
I’m not understanding the qestion please explain me in detail.
November 18, 2013 at 1:36 pm
No I do not understand you.
You said in your last reply that the part you got stuck on was how to adjust for the inventory, but now you say you do not understand the question!
Here is an example:
If you sell goods with a cost of sales of $1000, and there is no change in inventories, then you need to need to pay $1000 to buy them (the purchases).
However if you also want to increase your inventories, then you need to purchase more than $1000 – if you want to increase your inventories by (say) $100, then you would need to make purchases of $1100.
Similarly, if you reduce your inventories, then you are using some of your inventory to sell, and the purchases will therefore be the cost of sales less the reduction in inventory.
October 28, 2015 at 11:30 am
Q no 4 is stil confusing to me
October 28, 2015 at 12:24 pm
You have already said that once, and I have answered you!
October 22, 2013 at 11:32 pm
this topic I don’t like 🙁
August 6, 2013 at 7:24 pm
I can not watch video lectures.It says that no server found. can anyone help me?(((((((((((((
August 6, 2013 at 7:29 pm
I guess you should either refresh the page and try again thru yr browser(I use Chrome) or you might have to upgrade yr Adobe Flash player.
August 6, 2013 at 7:38 pm
ok. thks so much. let try
August 6, 2013 at 6:56 pm
I have trouble in understanding mark up and gross margin. Could anyone help me? thank you so much
July 19, 2013 at 10:53 pm
Plz can someone show me how to solve Question 3 from this chapter 18 in the course notes?
Gross Profit 20,000
It was discovered that Revenue was understated by 10,000 and Closing Inventory overstated by 5,000. Find the% change in gross profit after correcting errors?
July 20, 2013 at 8:56 am
The question does not ask for the % change in gross profit. It asks what the gross profit percentage will be.
The revenue was understated, so the correct revenue is 80,000 + 10,000 = 90,000.
More revenue means more gross profit, and if the closing inventory is overstated then it means that the profit is also understated. So the correct gross profit is 20,000 + 10,000 – 5,000 = 25,000
So the gross profit %age is 25,000/90,000 = 27.8%
July 20, 2013 at 12:04 pm
Ohkk…now i see, i did get 27.77 as i was trying to work my way thru to get the answer backwards but i just cudnt understand why the % was taken over the sales revenue of 90k rather than over the older GP value. Thanks a lot sir:):)
July 20, 2013 at 1:00 pm
September 29, 2013 at 5:01 am
Hello ACCA Tutor. Thank you for a great lecture and for a great note. I was doing the same question as wang9ackles above. (question 3). I understand the whole point. but I thought when closing inventory is overstated. sales is also overstated and also gross profit. So my answer came up like this.
Sales = 80000+10000-5000 = 85000
Profit = 20000+10000-5000 =25000
then the percentage =25000/85000 =29.4%
what point did I miss here?
September 29, 2013 at 7:07 am
Sales are recorded as they are made. Closing inventory is what is left at the end of the year and so does not affect the sales figure.
September 29, 2013 at 7:24 am
Thank you so much. I got it now.
April 22, 2013 at 9:55 am
Hello, In this lecture, you mention”I dont care the method you use to get the numbers””” What other methods can I use to work this out. Thank You
April 22, 2013 at 2:59 pm
Some people use algebra, some people set up a cost structure.
April 1, 2013 at 12:04 pm
could anyone help me with this question from BPP its as follow
Bob is a sole trader.He has calculated a cost of sales figure for the year, which is $ 342,000.Bob received a payment of $8,030 into the business bank account for goods sold on a special deal to Harry and this amount has been included within sales.The figure of $ 8,030 was calculated by adding a mark up of 10% to the cost of the goods. His gross profit percentage on all other goods sold was 20% of sales.
What is the total figure of sales for the year?
.A) $ 401,640
B) $ 402,370
C) $ 418,375
D) $ 426,405
The answer is D
Please help me out
April 1, 2013 at 2:53 pm
8,030 was a special deal. 8,030 is the selling price and there is a mark-up of 10%.
So the cost of these was 8,030 / 1.10 = 7,300
The total cost of sales was 342,000, but this includes the 7,300 above. So the cost of other goods was 342,000 – 7,300 = 334,700.
These was sold at a gross margin of 20% and so the sales value was 334,700 / 0.8 = 428,375.
Add the special sales to this: 418,375 + 8,030 = 426,405
November 18, 2012 at 3:51 pm
Could someone explain no 1 test
November 18, 2012 at 9:05 pm
open inventory 318000
+ purchases 412000
– cogs 459000 ( cogs=612000-0.25*612000)
closing inventory 214000
=> loss in inventory is 57000 (318000+412000-459000-214000)
hope that helps
November 13, 2012 at 10:25 pm
can someone help me work Ques 1 and 5
October 20, 2012 at 11:43 pm
I have no idea how to do number 6
October 21, 2012 at 6:57 am
@nhs14, The cost of sales at the moment is 40,000 + 60,000 – 50,000 = 50,000.
Sale prices are 2 times the cost, and so either sales should be 100,000 (2 x 50,000), or cost of sales should be 47,500 (95,000 / 2 ).
Choice 1 would mean that the sales would have been 100,000, so that is correct.
Choice 3 would mean that the cost of sales would be 47,500 so that is correct.
Neither of the other two choices would work.
October 18, 2012 at 8:23 pm
@devilmisa very helpful
September 5, 2012 at 6:52 pm
In the test, question 3 why is the answer not B instead of D and question 4, A instead of C since you taught that lower inventory implies lower profits and higher inventory implies higher profits.
September 6, 2012 at 9:09 am
@williamansah, For question 3:
Firstly, revenue was understated by 10,000.
This means that the correct revenue should be 80000 + 10000 = 90000.
It also means the profit would be 20000 + 10000 = 30000
Secondly, closing inventory was overstated by 5000. Reducing the closing inventory will reduce the profit, so this would make the profit 30000 – 5000 = 25000
So, the correct gross profit percentage is 25000 / 90000 = 27.8%
For question 4:
If sales are 193200, the cost of sales is 100/142 x 193200 = 136056.
Since inventory fell by 13200, this means that 13200 of the sales came from inventory and only the remainder needed purchasing.
So, the purchases are 136056 – 13200 = 122856
July 6, 2012 at 8:28 am
THANK YOU open tution bpp+open tution best combination
June 10, 2012 at 8:01 am
thanks for all
June 9, 2012 at 11:44 am
Thankyou so much bro for Reply and Salution !!
June 9, 2012 at 10:20 am
Silver Co made sales of $193200 during the year ended 31 August X1.Inventery decreased by $13200 over the year and all sales were made at a mark up of 42%.
What was the cost of purchases During the year, to the nearest $1000?
A) $ 149000
B) $ 136000
C) $ 123000
D) $ 109000
can any one help me with this question
June 9, 2012 at 10:49 am
The sales made on 42% above from cost
thats mean sales itself is 142 %
co we fine find cost because cost always be equal to 100 %
Cost of good sold = 193200 * 100 / 142
cost of good sold = 136056 ( round off)
cost of good purchase = cost of good sold – decrease in inventory
cost of good purchase = 136056 – 13200
cost of good purchase = 122856
have to give ans in neares $ 1000 so 122856 will become 123000
answer is C
June 9, 2012 at 11:47 am
@devilmisa, Thanks!! Really Helpfull Answer!!
May 9, 2012 at 7:03 pm
Could anyone help with Question 3 from Course Notes, please?
The draft accounts of Anthea Co. for the year ended 31 December 20X9 include the following:
Gross profit $20,000
It was subsequently discovered that revenue had been understated by $10,000 and closing inventory overstated by $5,000. After correction of these errors the gross progit percentage will be:
As for my considerations the answer should be B. 16,7%:
Corrected revenue should be: $80,000 + $10,000 = $90,000 (revenue is higher then we received from draft accounts).
Corrected gross profit should be: $20,000 – $5,000 = $15,000 (closing inventory should be smaller -> so COGS should be higher -> gross profit should be smaller).
Gross profit percentage: $15,000 / $90,000 = 16,7%.
But the answer in Course Notes shows us D… 🙁
May 23, 2012 at 4:39 am
80+the understated 10=90 Sales 90
60 (80 -20 )+ the overstated closing inventory 5=65 less: cost of sales 65
Profit 25/sales 90=27.8% The answer should be D
August 24, 2013 at 4:07 pm
Could you please explain to me why you were adding the overstated closing inventory back to the (80-20).
I found this statement ‘To calculate the cost of goods sold, you take the beginning inventory, add purchases and then subtract ending inventory. If the ending inventory is overstated, it makes the cost of goods sold appear lower than it really is.’ So should not the answer be B as Sangria9 says. Please help.
August 24, 2013 at 7:32 pm
Firstly, revenue was understated by 10,000.
This means that the correct revenue should be 80000 + 10000 = 90000.
It also means the profit would be 20000 + 10000 = 30000
April 20, 2012 at 4:02 am
3(B) Gross Profit is shown incorrectly.
It should be COST / 0.75 = SALES
X/0.75 = X
where X = SALES
April 20, 2012 at 6:21 am
@fabiangrey, I think you mean example 2(B). The lecture is correct and shows that cost/0.75 = sales.
(to write x/0.75 = x does not make any sense)
February 8, 2012 at 10:24 pm
Good Lecture, very clear! Thank You)
January 25, 2012 at 6:32 pm
Good afternoon, Please, can someone kindly send me the workings for “QuestionS 2,3 – Test for chapter 18 – Pg 121”? In advance, thank you.
May 9, 2012 at 7:08 pm
Initial figure for inventory on 4 June 2008: $836,200. This should be corrected with operations that occured between 31 May and 4 June:
($8,600) – purchases of goods: on 31 May 2008 this wasn’t in inventory;
$9,800 – sales of goods: $14,000 * 70% = $9,800: on 31 May 2008 this amount was in inventory;
$700 – goods returned by X to supplier: on 31 May 2008 this was in inventory.
Adjusted figure in the financial statement for inventories at 31 May 2008:
$836,200 – $8,600 + $9,800 + $700 = $838,100 (answer A.)
June 3, 2013 at 1:33 am
may i know how do u know which is in inventory and which is not
December 4, 2011 at 9:06 am
I can not see any video below “NEW!!” Could you please help?
November 16, 2011 at 9:31 pm
keep up the good work.
on the answer sheet for question 1-6 i am not seeing any work out answer can somebody please help me.
November 8, 2011 at 6:40 pm
Another way to work it out is to use the following process :-
Sales 100 125
Less Cost of Sales 75 100
Gross Profit 25 25
September 5, 2012 at 6:57 pm
@ilfalz, Oh dear!
October 21, 2012 at 1:57 am
@ilfalz, whilst you’re correct that that is an alternative way of doing markup, margin; I personally found the algebraic explanation using “x” a lot more simplified and faster. So, thank you opentuition
October 30, 2011 at 11:58 pm
how ca u add 1 to 33(1/3) in markup ,,,,, n get your cost
You must be logged in to post a comment.
OpenTuition is dedicated to providing all accountancy students throughout the world with the resources they need to study for the major accountancy … Learn more