OpenTuition.com Free resources for accountancy students
Free ACCA lectures and course notes | ACCA AAT FIA resources and forums | ACCA Global Community
ACCA F2 / FIA FMA lectures Download ACCA F2 notes
May 16, 2016 at 12:10 pm
Best lecture of innventory cntrol..you are ddoing a good job..God bless u…
John Moffat says
May 16, 2016 at 9:32 pm
Thank you for the comment 🙁
December 11, 2015 at 1:14 am
why the total purchase price of ($25/unit * no of dseks) is not included in calculating the total cost of inventory?
December 11, 2015 at 6:53 am
Unless there are quantity discounts (which is discussed in the following lecture) then the total purchase price over the year is the same whatever the order quantity, so it is not relevant to the decision as to how many to order each time.
November 15, 2015 at 4:15 pm
sir, how do we calculate re-order level??
November 15, 2015 at 4:30 pm
If you look at the revision notes, it is explained there.
Adedini Oluwasogo Adekunle says
April 6, 2016 at 10:23 am
Reorder level is calculated as max. usage * max. lead time
October 24, 2015 at 7:45 pm
hi. am sitting for my CPA(T) exams next week , i find these lectures to be very helpful.thank yu for the great job you are doing.
October 24, 2015 at 10:15 pm
Glad they are useful for you 🙂
October 15, 2015 at 9:50 am
May God’s peace and blessings be upone you, you are doing a great job helping people, I thank you for that. And the question I wanted to ask is that:
Aren’t we considering bulk discounts here?? If we buy 40,000 desks at the start of the year, our holding cost does get higher but what if the discount we are getting nullifies the higher holding cost.
October 15, 2015 at 10:34 am
In this introduction we are ignoring the possibility of bulk discounts. However they are dealt with later in the lectures on inventory.
September 8, 2015 at 7:16 am
Is there a question related to Just in time inventory in your lectures that I could practice. Kindly let me know the same.
September 8, 2015 at 7:52 am
No, because you will not be asked calculations relating to just-in-time. Any questions on it will be writing.
August 29, 2015 at 6:44 pm
John, I’m having a few questions.. But first I wanna say I’m enjoying my study here at open tuition… Well, I watched all the 6 videos on Inventory Control.. and was able to answer the unsolved questions of the course note myself.. but when I moved on to study Bpp I found a lot of new formula there, e.g how to calculate buffer/minimum inventory. I saw u replied here that there is no rule to calculate it, But Bpp states ‘Buffer inventory= Reorder level-(average usage multiplied by average lead time)’
I checked into ACCA webpage to access the syllabus. there I found the following:
“”‘(iv) Identify, explain and calculate the costs of
ordering and holding inventory (including
buffer inventory)[s] “””
And also, the calculation of average inventory using the safety inventory and reorder quantity is nowhere discussed in all six videos.. So, would u please explain what to study and how? I’m getting all confused. I really wanna get above 80% at any cost and willing to study all day if that takes, so give me some suggestion on how to approach it, I will sit for my f2 exam on this december….Thanks..!!
August 29, 2015 at 7:06 pm
Our Lectures and Lecture Notes are what we teach on the ‘teaching’ phase of the course where our job is to make sure everyone will get more than 50% and therefore pass the exam. Obviously many get much higher marks, but our focus in on making sure people pass.
Certainly buffer/safety inventories and reorder levels are in the syllabus, but there are only ever very few (if any questions) on that – most of the inventory questions are on what we cover in the lectures.
However, we also have revision notes (which are again what we use on our courses where we have a few days of quick revision). In those notes you will find quick examples on what is in the main lecture notes and also things like buffer inventory and reorder levels.
Our Lecture Notes are not meant to replace Study Texts. However, if you work through all of our lectures notes with the lectures, if you work through the revision notes, and if you attempt our mock exam (and every time you attempt it you are likely to get different questions, because the computer chooses them at random from a large bank of questions), then you should pass easily. To be extra certain you should have a Revision Kit from one of the ACCA approved publishers because they contain lots of exam standard questions to practice on, and practice is the most vital thing of all.
August 29, 2015 at 7:21 pm
Thanx a lot! 🙂 I will get back to u soon whn i’ll be having another problem. U’re awesome! 🙂
August 25, 2015 at 3:14 am
John, I couldnt find the example which is shown here on the video on my note page 72, all the stuffs matched till chapter 4…please help..
August 25, 2015 at 9:28 am
The lecture is using the lecture notes for Chapter 5 of the lecture notes, which start on page 23.
Page 72 is on Process Costing which is later lectures.
August 25, 2015 at 1:17 pm
Got it, thanx 🙂
August 25, 2015 at 4:06 pm
July 28, 2015 at 9:22 pm
Just started work into this paper today in readiness for the Dec 15 sitting (in conjunction with F6 which I finished the OT course on at lunch today). Just want to say what a comfort it is to have you lecturing this. My stomach turned when I looked at the syllabus but seeing you appear on these lectures is a saving grace. I felt the same way on the F5 paper and with you support and BPP distance learning managed 89% on that paper. Based on this lecture alone it’s a real confidence booster to have a tutor make you “understand” rather than merely “learn”. Apologies for the hyperbole but I will sleep a lot easier tonight knowing you’re running the course – my wife will be much happier too as stress levels decrease considerably which in turn makes it easier for her to live with me for the next 5 months!
Thanks so much once again – I’m sure I speak on behalf of ALL students in our sincere gratitude for your time and effort. OT should be put forward for any and all awards for what you achieve and the time you give up without financial reward.
July 29, 2015 at 9:34 am
Thanks a lot for your comments 🙂
August 14, 2015 at 5:21 pm
What is mean by buffer inventory and howa we calculate it? plz tel me with general example
August 14, 2015 at 5:40 pm
Buffer inventory is not mentioned in this lecture, so please in future ask questions like this in the Ask the Tutor Forum and not as a comment on a lecture.
Buffer (or safety) inventory is when you hold extra inventory just to be safe – to avoid running out of inventory if (for example) a delivery is late arriving.
You do not calculate it – there is no rule as to what is should be.
September 4, 2015 at 8:24 am
Chris, you are 100% right. I could not say it better, especially the family issue. Congrats for your F5 result. I am sitting it Dec 2015.
Best regards to our tutor John and all fellow students.
September 4, 2015 at 9:09 am
Thank you Stanimir 🙂
June 24, 2015 at 9:58 pm
Ahhhh, I’m sry, wasn’t sure if this would be a comment or something to be posted at the Ask the Tutor. Alright then, noted.
May 20, 2015 at 11:56 am
Does the cost of the inventory itself (in this case $25/unit) not matter? The question is about calculating the cost of Inventory p.a (which I think includes the purchase price of the inventory)
Also if we used that, would it distort the EOQ?
May 20, 2015 at 5:34 pm
The cost of the inventory of $25 if not relevant because it would be the same total cost over the year however many we order each time. We are still ordering the same total number of units over the year, and so the total purchase price will be the same. We are costing out over the year and only the total order and total inventory costs will change with the number ordered each time.
The purchase price is only relevant if the holding cost per unit is a % of the purchase price (but only relevant for calculating the holding cost per unit), or if there are discount offered for purchasing larger quantities each time (which is dealt with in the later lectures.)
August 12, 2015 at 10:46 am
for inventory holding cost 250×25=6250x 10% = 625 is this ok
August 12, 2015 at 11:16 am
Of course – it is exactly the same as what I did (250 x (10% x 25))
How you get the figure is irrelevant provided obviously you end up with the correct final figure 🙂
May 11, 2015 at 9:39 am
this is very good
thanks for the lecture.
February 27, 2015 at 11:08 am
Is there any kind of copyright problem or anything if i download these lectures so that i can see them later???
February 27, 2015 at 11:55 am
The lectures are copyright of OpenTuition, and they are not downloadable – they can only be watched online.
It is the only way that we can keep this website free of charge.
December 7, 2014 at 6:19 am
These video today they r not playing???
December 7, 2014 at 8:34 am
The videos are working fine. Check on the support page for help – the link is above.
December 13, 2014 at 2:58 am
Sir, this lecture is not working. Message is come up file error. May you please do needful so I can listen this lecture. Thanks.
December 13, 2014 at 3:00 am
Error loading media: file could not be played.
December 13, 2014 at 9:36 am
The lecture is working fine – the problem must be at your end and you should go to the support page to get help. The link to the support page is above.
November 13, 2014 at 2:01 am
Thx for lectures,John.
but I have a small question,I bought a latest text book published by BPP,and I planned to look though each chapter of the book after watching lectures ,but the contents of your lectures are quiet different from the book,which makes me confused %>_<%
November 13, 2014 at 8:28 am
The chapters may be in a different order, but the contents are not quite different! Our lectures go through most of what is needed for the exam.
If you understand our lectures you do not really need to use the Study Text, but what you must have is a Revisiom Kit because it is vital to practice as many questions as possible.
November 13, 2014 at 12:44 pm
sorry I didn’t express myself properly, I do wanna say the order is different…
But it’s good to know that I don’t have to go through the whole textbook coz it’s too much in the book!
BELLO OLAIDE TITUS says
October 10, 2014 at 7:58 am
John pls, I really appreciate this inventory lecture but I think I need more lecture like this on d topic but this is d only one here, pls how can access more lectures on inventory?
October 10, 2014 at 4:10 pm
This is not the only lecture!
If you look at the list of lectures for F2, there are 6 lectures on Inventory Control – this is just the first one.
(In addition there are revision lectures)
September 27, 2014 at 9:13 pm
Dear Mr Moffat
I’ve got a question. The Ex.1 says: “Inventory holding costs amount to 10% p.a. of inventory value.” But inventory value’s defined by the price of the desk, which is $25, isn’t it? so, I assume we can’t say that holding of 1 unit is equal to $2.5, because it includes several decks, for ex. in case of 500 units it’s 40,000 / 500 = 80 (desks per unit), and then holding 1 unit of 80 desks will cost us $200. And so on. Where is my mistake, plzzz?
September 28, 2014 at 3:46 am
I mean, therefore, the holding of 1 unit of 80 desks will cost us 80 * 2.5 = $200. And on average we are being charged on 250 units for the whole year, so it’ll be 250 * 200 = $50,000.
In case of 750 units we’ve got 40,000 / 750 = 53.(3) (desks per unit), therefore 53.(3) * 2.5 = $133.(3) per unit, and (750 / 2) * 133.(3) = $50,000 (total payment for holding). I mean, it should be the same in any case, because the number of desks and the price of 1 desk are constant in the task.
September 28, 2014 at 7:13 am
OK, never mind, I see it now 🙂
1 unit = 1 desk 🙂
September 28, 2014 at 8:37 am
Thats correct 🙂
(Sorry i did not answer earlier, but your question appeared during the night here and I was asleep 🙂 )
September 9, 2014 at 10:21 pm
I study the topic before while was doing my B.Com…In Cost Accounting. But this is the best explanation..
August 28, 2014 at 4:48 pm
this is great, many thanks!
August 5, 2014 at 12:25 am
Thanks to the management of Open Tuition!
August 5, 2014 at 5:51 am
You are very welcome 🙂
Al-amin aye says
August 21, 2014 at 3:56 am
Lot of thanks for open tuition
August 3, 2014 at 2:13 pm
OMG. Thank you OT. Now i can watch these lectures on my phone as well!
July 15, 2014 at 2:43 pm
Hi. First of all thanks a million for these free videos.
I have question regarding option a. If you order 500 units and they charge you 10% p.a of inventory value in a day-to-day basis. So you pay 625$. I understand that after you sell those units, you will order another “batch” of 500 units. So shouldn’t 625$ be charged again and again (for 80 times) by the storehouse?
July 16, 2014 at 6:37 am
Because it is being charged on a day-to-day basis, some days you will be charged on a full 500 units and some days on zero units (because the inventory level keeps going between 500 (when you receive an order) and 0 (just before you receive the next order). So it is as though on average you are being charged on 250 units for the whole year.
May 25, 2014 at 3:04 pm
Thank you for presenting the lectures. I have a question about the calculations of inventory cost in example 1 part 2 where the order quantities are 750 units. When calculating the reorder cost, it seems not quite realistic to use 53.33 times 20 because the real number or orders should be 54. It is true to use 53.33 if the system is in long run, but here it is just for one-year base. And in terms of the calculations of holding costs, the average inventory level for the last “period” should be 250/2=125. Therefore, I think the calculations for the reorder cost should be 54*20=1080, the inventory cost should be ((750/2)*(53/54)+(250/2)*(1/54))*2.5=926 assuming that the interval between each replenishment is the same, or(((750*3/2)/3)*(159/160)+(250/2)*(1/160))*2.5=933.6 assuming that the items are sold at the same rate.
Could you please correct my faults in this. Thank you
May 25, 2014 at 3:08 pm
Why do you say it is just for one year?
The question says there is a demand of 40,000 desks per year – this implies every year.
As I explain in the lecture, some years there will be 54 orders and some years only 53 orders. However there will be 53.33 orders a year on average.
We always make this assumption (and it is important in the exam not to round it).
Without this assumption, the EOQ formula itself is not valid.
May 25, 2014 at 3:21 pm
oic, but if it is specifically for one year, am I right in the calculations?
May 25, 2014 at 3:47 pm
Yes, but it will never ever be for just one year in the exam.
May 19, 2014 at 3:17 pm
Hi. For holding cost, why do we always have to divide the total number of units by 2? I missed that bit. Thanks
May 19, 2014 at 3:34 pm
Because the level of inventory keeps moving between the order quantity (when an order has just been received) and zero (just before the next order is received).
So the average inventory throughout the year is the order quantity / 2.
May 20, 2014 at 6:34 am
Sorry I still cant understand this. Do u mean because there are 2 choices? that is why it is divided by 2? :s
May 20, 2014 at 7:04 am
No – there are not two choices.
Suppose that the order quantity is 500 each time. You get a deliver of 500, so you have 500 in your warehouse. You sell these 500 over a few weeks/months, and the level of inventory in the warehouse falls to zero. Then you get a new delivery of 500 and the level goes back up to 500. This keeps repeating, so throughout the year the inventory level keeps moving between 500 and zero.
Therefore on average the level is (500 + 0)/2 = 250 units.
Have a look at the lecture again – I draw a little graph to illustrate how the inventory level keeps changing and therefore why the average inventory is the order quantity divided by two.
May 11, 2014 at 3:27 am
I have a problem with a phrase:
Overtime is paid at a rate of time and a quarter.
what does it mean? if the workers are paid $4 per hour.
and total overtime 26 hrs, which is 8 hrs for specific order and the rest is general order.
question asking to compute the direct cost of specific overtime.
May u help about it?
May 11, 2014 at 10:15 am
Please do not ask a question about labour under a lecture on inventory control! Ask in the F2 Ask the Tutor Forum.
‘Time and a quarter’ means that for every hour they work they are paid for 1.25 hours.
So…..if overtime is 26 hours they will be paid 26 x 1.25 x $4 for the overtime.
Direct cost of labour is basic pay, plus overtime premium on specific job. (Rest is indirect cost)
May 9, 2014 at 5:22 am
Thanks, u completly solved my problem.very easy o understand as compered to text books recommended.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
OpenTuition.com is dedicated to providing all accountancy students throughout the world with the resources they need to study for the major … Learn more