• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams

  • ACCA
  • CIMA
  • FIA
  • OBU
  • Books
  • Forums
  • Ask AI
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • ACCA Forums
  • Ask ACCA Tutor
  • FIA Forums
  • CIMA Forums
  • OBU Forums
  • Qualified Members forum
  • Buy/Sell Books
  • All Forums
  • Latest Topics

Save 20% on ACCA & CIMA Books

Interactive BPP books for June 2026 exams, recommended by OpenTuition.
Get discount code >>

What is the difference in profit between absorption and marginal costing?

Forums › FIA Forums › What is the difference in profit between absorption and marginal costing?

  • This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by AvatarKen Garrett.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • February 6, 2020 at 4:30 pm #560949
    Avatarfaqirizada93
    Member
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 0
    • ☆

    25,000 units of a company’s single product are produced in a period during which 28,000 units are sold. Opening inventory was 7,000 units. Unit costs of the product are:

    $ per unit

    Direct costs

    16.20

    Fixed production overhead

    7.60

    Fixed non-production overhead
    2.90

    February 7, 2020 at 8:43 am #560993
    AvatarKen Garrett
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 10
    • Replies: 10657
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    Differences in profit between TAC and MC are always caused by the valuation of opening and closing inventory. For example, the higher the value of closing inventory, the higher the profits:

    Cost of sales = Opening stock + Purchases – Closing stock

    If closing stock goes up, cost of sales goes down and profit (Sales – Cost of sales) goes up .

    Similarly, the higher the value of opening stock, the lower the profit.

    Here, the closing inventory at the end of the transactions must be: 7,000 + 25,000 – 28,000 = 4,000. Inventory has fallen from 7,000 to 4,000 ie by 3,000.

    Fixed production costs of $7.60 are in inventory under TAC, but not under MC

    The difference in profit is therefore 3,000 x 7.60 = 22,800 [Profit will fall by this if you move from MC to TAC].

  • Author
    Posts
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Log In

Primary Sidebar

ACCA News:

ACCA My Exam Performance for non-variant

Applied Skills exams is available NOW

ACCA Options:  “Read the Mind of the Marker” articles

Subscribe to ACCA’s Student Accountant Direct

ACCA CBE Exams – Instant Poll

How was your exam, and what was the exam result?

BT CBE exam was.. | MA CBE exam was..
FA CBE exam was.. | LW CBE exam was..

Donate

If you have benefited from OpenTuition please donate.

PQ Magazine

Latest Comments

  • Breadtoast67 on Diversification – ACCA Strategic Business Leader (SBL)
  • Breadtoast67 on Diversification – ACCA Strategic Business Leader (SBL)
  • TEDI on IAS 16 Property, plant and equipment – Initial Recognition – CIMA F1 Financial Reporting
  • ChanNV on Framework – measurement – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • ChanNV on IASB Conceptual Framework – Introduction – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)

Copyright © 2026 · Contact · Advertising · OpenLicense · About · Sitemap · Privacy Policy · Cookie settings · Comments · Log in