• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams

  • ACCA
  • CIMA
  • FIA
  • OBU
  • Books
  • Forums
  • Ask AI
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • ACCA Forums
  • Ask ACCA Tutor
  • FIA Forums
  • CIMA Forums
  • OBU Forums
  • Qualified Members forum
  • Buy/Sell Books
  • All Forums
  • Latest Topics

Save 20% on ACCA & CIMA Books

Interactive BPP books for June 2026 exams, recommended by OpenTuition.
Get discount code >>

calculating profit with absorption costing

Forums › CIMA Forums › calculating profit with absorption costing

  • This topic has 3 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by AvatarCath.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • October 19, 2020 at 10:48 am #590381
    Avatarsaadkx
    Member
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 22
    • ☆

    Hi, there is point related to fixed overhead rate for the period i am confused about…..
    the illustration says we have selling price 15 per unit , variable costs per unit is 9.5
    budgeted fixed overhead 5000 and budgeted production for the period is 2500.

    2400 units are actually produced and sales are 2220

    NOW, the rate that should be used for the absorption of fixed overhead be 5000/2400=2.033
    which increases the profit for the period about 375
    OR it should be based on budgeted data 5000/2500=2 which increases the profit by 360?????

    November 2, 2020 at 12:09 am #593784
    AvatarCath
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 448
    • ☆☆☆

    Hi there, im searching the notes for the example you are talking about ( but not sure if its an Open Tuition exercise or not?)

    However, without looking at the detail, I can confirm that budgeted OAR is ALWAYS based on budgeted data ( like your second example… never the actual data)

    Hope thats ok
    Cath

    December 31, 2020 at 9:38 am #601211
    Avatarmayur3331
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 4
    • ☆

    Even i am confused with this problem…
    imited manufactures a single product, the budgeted selling price and variable cost details of which are as follows:

    $/unit

    Selling price $15.00

    Variable costs per unit:

    Direct materials $3.50

    DIrect labour $4.00

    Variable overhead $2.00

    Budgeted fixed overhead costs are $60,000 per annum charged at a constant rate each month.

    Budgeted production is 30,000 units per annum.

    In a month when actual production was 2,400 units and exceeded sales by 180 units, identify the profit reported under absorption costing:

    My answer comes 7770

    Sales(2220*15)——- 33,300

    COGS

    Cost of production

    (2400*11.5)———–(27600)

    Less CI

    (180*11.5)————-(2070)

    Total——————-(25530)

    Gross profit——-7770

    and right answer is as per below

    Calculate marginal costing profit first:

    (Contribution per unit x no. of units sold) – fixed costs = MC profit

    ($15 – $3.5 – $4 – $2) x (2,400 – 180) – $60,000 / 12 – MC profit

    $5.50 x 2,220 units – $5,000 = $7,210

    Then calculate the profit difference between marginal and absorption costing:

    Difference = OAR x difference in closing and opening inventory units

    = $60,000 / 30,000 x 180

    = $2 x 180 = $360

    As production is for a higher quantity than sales, closing inventory must be larger than opening inventory and absorption costing profit must be higher than marginal costing profit

    Absorption costing profit = $7,210 + $360 = $7,570

    Regards

    Mayur

    January 7, 2021 at 6:53 pm #601838
    AvatarCath
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 448
    • ☆☆☆

    Hi Mayur,

    Thanks for your query & good question….

    The way they have worked it out – is a useful shortcut – because marginal profit is quickest & you can convert to absorption profit the difference being

    ( No of units stock increases/decrease in year * FOAR)

    However, your way of calculating using normal absorption profit statement is just as valid & should give the same answer….

    Your workings are fine except youve missed on key adjustment (pasting your answer from above below).

    Sales(2220*15)——- 33,300

    COGS -(25530)

    Gross profit = 7770

    You have forgotten to adjust for UNDER/OVER absorption of overhead.

    So overhead absorbed in month = 2400* 2 = $4800
    Overhead incurred in month = $5000. ( ie 60k per year /12)

    So underabsorbed in this month by $200
    Deduct this from your workings

    You will see absorption profit is $7570. ( just like the answer says – youve followed another valid route to calculate – but missed off that last adjustment)

    Hope this helps

  • Author
    Posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Log In

Primary Sidebar

ACCA News:

ACCA My Exam Performance for non-variant

Applied Skills exams is available NOW

ACCA Options:  “Read the Mind of the Marker” articles

Subscribe to ACCA’s Student Accountant Direct

ACCA CBE Exams – Instant Poll

How was your exam, and what was the exam result?

BT CBE exam was.. | MA CBE exam was..
FA CBE exam was.. | LW CBE exam was..

Donate

If you have benefited from OpenTuition please donate.

PQ Magazine

Latest Comments

  • TEDI on IAS 16 Property, plant and equipment – Initial Recognition – CIMA F1 Financial Reporting
  • ChanNV on Framework – measurement – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • ChanNV on IASB Conceptual Framework – Introduction – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Konstantinos43 on Financial Performance Measurement – Liquidity Measures – ACCA Management Accounting (MA)
  • Hirak.5 on ACCA TX-UK FA2025 Chapter 3 Property Income and Investments – Individuals

Copyright © 2026 · Contact · Advertising · OpenLicense · About · Sitemap · Privacy Policy · Cookie settings · Comments · Log in