• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams

  • ACCA
  • CIMA
  • FIA
  • OBU
  • Books
  • Forums
  • Ask AI
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • ACCA Forums
  • Ask ACCA Tutor
  • FIA Forums
  • CIMA Forums
  • OBU Forums
  • Qualified Members forum
  • Buy/Sell Books
  • All Forums
  • Latest Topics

Save 20% on ACCA & CIMA Books

Interactive BPP books for June 2026 exams, recommended by OpenTuition.
Get discount code >>

Absorption & marginal costing

Forums › FIA Forums › Absorption & marginal costing

  • This topic has 2 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by AvatarAfrina.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • May 8, 2015 at 5:13 pm #244814
    AvatarAfrina
    Member
    • Topics: 26
    • Replies: 37
    • ☆☆

    Dear Sir,

    A company uses standard absorption costing to value inventory. Its fixed OAR is $12 per labour hr & each unit of production should take 4 hrs. In a recent period where where there was no opening inventory of finished goods, 20,000 units were produced using 100,000 labour hrs, 18,000 units were sold. The actual profit was $ 464,000.

    What profit would have been earned under a standard marginal costing system?

    A. $368,000
    B. $440,000
    C. $344, 000
    D. $560,000

    The correct answer is A. I wish to know how this question was calculated to result in to answer A pls.

    May 8, 2015 at 7:37 pm #244838
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54845
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    The only difference between the absorption and marginal profits is the change in the inventory multiplied by the fixed overheads per unit.

    In this question, the produced 20,000 units and sold 18,000 units. So the inventory increased by 2,000 units.

    The fixed overheads per unit at 4 x $12 = $48.

    So the profit will be different by 2,000 x $48 = $96,000.

    If inventories increase then absorption gives the higher profit (and so marginal gives a lower profit – 96,000 lower)

    I do suggest that you watch our free lectures which cover the whole syllabus for ACCA Paper F2 (which includes marginal and absorption costing).

    May 9, 2015 at 4:11 pm #244970
    AvatarAfrina
    Member
    • Topics: 26
    • Replies: 37
    • ☆☆

    Thx !

  • Author
    Posts
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Log In

Primary Sidebar

ACCA News:

ACCA My Exam Performance for non-variant

Applied Skills exams is available NOW

ACCA Options:  “Read the Mind of the Marker” articles

Subscribe to ACCA’s Student Accountant Direct

ACCA CBE Exams – Instant Poll

How was your exam, and what was the exam result?

BT CBE exam was.. | MA CBE exam was..
FA CBE exam was.. | LW CBE exam was..

Donate

If you have benefited from OpenTuition please donate.

PQ Magazine

Latest Comments

  • TEDI on IAS 16 Property, plant and equipment – Initial Recognition – CIMA F1 Financial Reporting
  • ChanNV on Framework – measurement – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • ChanNV on IASB Conceptual Framework – Introduction – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Konstantinos43 on Financial Performance Measurement – Liquidity Measures – ACCA Management Accounting (MA)
  • Hirak.5 on ACCA TX-UK FA2025 Chapter 3 Property Income and Investments – Individuals

Copyright © 2026 · Contact · Advertising · OpenLicense · About · Sitemap · Privacy Policy · Cookie settings · Comments · Log in