• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams

  • ACCA
  • CIMA
  • FIA
  • OBU
  • Books
  • Forums
  • Ask AI
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • ACCA Forums
  • Ask ACCA Tutor
  • FIA Forums
  • CIMA Forums
  • OBU Forums
  • Qualified Members forum
  • Buy/Sell Books
  • All Forums
  • Latest Topics

Save 20% on ACCA & CIMA Books

Interactive BPP books for June 2026 exams, recommended by OpenTuition.
Get discount code >>

Transfer pricing

Forums › Ask ACCA Tutor Forums › Ask the Tutor ACCA PM Exams › Transfer pricing

  • This topic has 6 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by AvatarJohn Moffat.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • February 24, 2018 at 8:56 am #438668
    Avatarsheri12
    Member
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 15
    • ☆

    Bodge co has 2 divisions, Pottery and Painting.Pottery division makes unglazed bowls that are then sold to Painting division for decoration and glazing.
    The painting division sells completed bowls to the market for $50 each after incurring variable costs.
    The pottery division has a fixed contract to sell 800 unglazed bowls each month for $30 each.The following monthly info is available for the pottery division
    EXT SALES=$24000 @$30 WITH 800 UNITS
    VAR COSTS=$12000
    FIXED COSTS=$4000
    Profit=$8000

    SALES TO PAINTING DIVISION
    Sales Revenue=$25000 @25 WITH 1000 UNITS
    Variable costs=$15000
    Fixed costs =$4500
    Profit=$5500

    The Painting division has been offered to source the unglazed bowls from an external supplier for $25 each

    What would be the monthly drop in Profit of Pottery Division?
    What what would be the effect of Bodge Co profit?

    One approach for finding the effect on profit is to deduct the supplier price of $24 from in house marginal cost of $15 hence an increase cost of $9(24-15)

    Can we do it like this Profit of Painting Division=$8000 less Fixed costs of $4500 (Painting division) less buy in cost of $24000 (8000-24000-4500)=$20500 New Profit
    Old profit =8000+5500=13500 Change in profit =20500-13500=$7000

    but i am confused that what would happen to fixed costs of $4500 if we accept the offer, shown in sales to pottery division and are these specific costs or not ?

    NEED YOUR HELP PLEASE !

    February 24, 2018 at 10:04 am #438690
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54845
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    It is impossible for me to answer with certainty without seeing the whole question (if it is a past exam question, or a question in the BPP Revision Kit, then tell me which one).

    On what you have written, it would appear that the total fixed costs of Pottery are $8,500 (how they have chosen to apportion them between external sales and sales to the other division is of no relevance).

    Given that the pottery division will not be closing down, the fixed costs will remain at $8,500.

    February 24, 2018 at 10:15 am #438696
    Avatarsheri12
    Member
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 15
    • ☆

    sir its kaplan kit question #222 and its not a past question its kits own question
    sir the answers are
    BODGE CO if accepts the offer
    A)profits would increase by $9000
    B)profits would increase by $15000
    C)profits would decrease by $9000
    D)profits would decrease by $14500

    and i have typed the complete information given !

    February 24, 2018 at 10:18 am #438697
    Avatarsheri12
    Member
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 15
    • ☆

    and for the question regarding drop in monthly profit of division?
    its answer is a net decease of $10000 !

    February 24, 2018 at 4:00 pm #438725
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54845
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    The answer is quite correct.

    At the moment, the 1,000 units are costing the company $15 per unit to make.
    If instead they are bought externally, they will cost $25 per unit – an extra $10 per unit.

    Therefore the costs to the company will increase by 1,000 x $10 = $10,000, and therefore the companys profit will fall by $10,000.

    The fixed costs are irrelevant for the reason I wrote before.

    Have you watched my free lectures on transfer pricing?

    February 24, 2018 at 4:24 pm #438732
    Avatarsheri12
    Member
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 15
    • ☆

    YES SIR I HAVE WATCHED YOUR LECTURES ON TRANSFER PRICING !

    thanks a lot sir !

    February 24, 2018 at 4:41 pm #438737
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54845
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    You are welcome 🙂

  • Author
    Posts
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • The topic ‘Transfer pricing’ is closed to new replies.

Primary Sidebar

ACCA News:

ACCA My Exam Performance for non-variant

Applied Skills exams is available NOW

ACCA Options:  “Read the Mind of the Marker” articles

Subscribe to ACCA’s Student Accountant Direct

ACCA CBE Exams – Instant Poll

How was your exam, and what was the exam result?

BT CBE exam was.. | MA CBE exam was..
FA CBE exam was.. | LW CBE exam was..

Donate

If you have benefited from OpenTuition please donate.

PQ Magazine

Latest Comments

  • TEDI on IAS 16 Property, plant and equipment – Initial Recognition – CIMA F1 Financial Reporting
  • ChanNV on Framework – measurement – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • ChanNV on IASB Conceptual Framework – Introduction – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Konstantinos43 on Financial Performance Measurement – Liquidity Measures – ACCA Management Accounting (MA)
  • Hirak.5 on ACCA TX-UK FA2025 Chapter 3 Property Income and Investments – Individuals

Copyright © 2026 · Contact · Advertising · OpenLicense · About · Sitemap · Privacy Policy · Cookie settings · Comments · Log in