- This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by .
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Congratulations to Jamil from Pakistan and Jeeva from Malaysia - Global Prize winners!
see all ACCA December 2022 Genius Hunt Competition winners >>
Specially for OpenTuition students: 20% off BPP Books for ACCA & CIMA exams – Get your BPP Discount Code >>
Catt sells goods at a margin of 50%. During the year to 31 March 20X3 the business made purchases
totalling $134,025 and sales totalling $240,000. Inventories in hand at 31 March 20X3, valued at
cost, was $11,385 higher than the corresponding figure at 1 April 20X2.
What was the cost of the goods Catt had drawn out?
IN the solution they have shown COS as 120000
DOUBTS- shouln’t the COS be since it is on 50% margin 240000/150*100 = 160000 ??
Unless specifically told differently, a margin is a % of sales (and a mark-up is a % of cost).
Therefore the cost of sales is 40% x $240,000 = $120,000.
I do suggest that you watch my free lectures on mark-ups and margins. The lectures are a complete free course for Paper FA and cover everything needed to be able to pass the exam well.