• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams

  • ACCA
  • CIMA
  • FIA
  • OBU
  • Books
  • Forums
  • Ask AI
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • ACCA Forums
  • Ask ACCA Tutor
  • FIA Forums
  • CIMA Forums
  • OBU Forums
  • Qualified Members forum
  • Buy/Sell Books
  • All Forums
  • Latest Topics

Save 20% on ACCA & CIMA Books

Interactive BPP books for June 2026 exams, recommended by OpenTuition.
Get discount code >>

Profit Reporting Help.

Forums › FIA Forums › Profit Reporting Help.

  • This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by AvatarKen Garrett.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • May 15, 2016 at 4:23 pm #315188
    AvatarAbdullah
    Participant
    • Topics: 11
    • Replies: 7
    • ☆

    What is the solution for MA1 CBE provided by Open Tuion , Question Number #47

    25,000 units of a company’s single product are produced in a period during which 28,000 units are sold. Opening inventory was 7,000 units. Unit costs of the product are:

    $ per unit
    Direct costs 16.20
    Fixed production overhead 7.60
    Fixed non-production overhead 2.90

    What is the difference in profit between absorption and marginal costing?
    $22,800
    $31,500
    $30,400
    $42,000

    i have exam in 1 day, please provide the full solution.

    May 17, 2016 at 3:13 pm #315455
    AvatarKen Garrett
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 10
    • Replies: 10657
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    If 25,000 units are produced and 28,000 sold than closing inventory must be 4,000 (3,000 of the 7,000 opening must have been used for sales).

    Profit differences between MC and TAC are caused only by fixed costs brought forward or carried forward in inventory. Here, these will be $7.60/unit because non-production costs never go into inventory values.

    Opening stock: 7,000 x 7.6 higher value under TAC than under MC = 53,200. TAC would reduce profits because of this.

    Closing stock: 4,000 x 7.6 higher value under TAC than under MC = 30,400. TAC would increase profits because of this.

    Net difference = 53,200 – 30,400 = 22,800

  • Author
    Posts
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Log In

Primary Sidebar

ACCA News:

ACCA My Exam Performance for non-variant

Applied Skills exams is available NOW

ACCA Options:  “Read the Mind of the Marker” articles

Subscribe to ACCA’s Student Accountant Direct

ACCA CBE Exams – Instant Poll

How was your exam, and what was the exam result?

BT CBE exam was.. | MA CBE exam was..
FA CBE exam was.. | LW CBE exam was..

Donate

If you have benefited from OpenTuition please donate.

PQ Magazine

Latest Comments

  • TEDI on IAS 16 Property, plant and equipment – Initial Recognition – CIMA F1 Financial Reporting
  • ChanNV on Framework – measurement – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • ChanNV on IASB Conceptual Framework – Introduction – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Konstantinos43 on Financial Performance Measurement – Liquidity Measures – ACCA Management Accounting (MA)
  • Hirak.5 on ACCA TX-UK FA2025 Chapter 3 Property Income and Investments – Individuals

Copyright © 2026 · Contact · Advertising · OpenLicense · About · Sitemap · Privacy Policy · Cookie settings · Comments · Log in