• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams

  • ACCA
  • CIMA
  • FIA
  • OBU
  • Books
  • Forums
  • Ask AI
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • ACCA Forums
  • Ask ACCA Tutor
  • FIA Forums
  • CIMA Forums
  • OBU Forums
  • Qualified Members forum
  • Buy/Sell Books
  • All Forums
  • Latest Topics

Save 20% on ACCA & CIMA Books

Interactive BPP books for June 2026 exams, recommended by OpenTuition.
Get discount code >>

Marginal Costing

Forums › Ask ACCA Tutor Forums › Ask the Tutor ACCA MA – FIA FMA › Marginal Costing

  • This topic has 3 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by AvatarJohn Moffat.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • August 7, 2020 at 5:16 pm #579557
    AvatarMMubashir
    Member
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 1
    • ☆

    The following budgeted information refers to a manufacturing company for the next period,

    units $
    Production 14000 Fixed Production cost 63,000
    sales 12000 Fixed Selling cost 12,000

    The normal level of activity is 14000 units per period
    using Absorption costing profits for the next period is $36000

    What would be the profit for the next period using Marginal costing?
    A-$25000
    B-$27000
    C-$45000
    D$47000

    August 7, 2020 at 5:59 pm #579564
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54845
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    Please do not simply type out test questions and expect to be provided with a full answer. You must have an answer in the same book in which you found the question, so in future ask about whatever it is in the answer that you are not clear about. Then I will explain.

    As I explain in my free lectures on this, the only difference ever between marginal and absorption profits is the change in inventory multiplied by the fixed production overheads per unit.

    Here, the inventory is increasing by 2,000 units (because they produce 2,000. more than they sell). The fixed overhead absorption rate is $4.50 per unit (63,000/14000).

    Therefore the marginal costing profit will be lower than the absorption costing profit (because the inventory increases) by 2,000 x 4.50 = $9,000.

    Do watch my free lectures on this. The lectures are a complete free course for Paper MA and cover everything needed to be able to pass the exam well.

    August 7, 2020 at 7:26 pm #579567
    AvatarMMubashir
    Member
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 1
    • ☆

    Thank You so much sir!

    August 8, 2020 at 7:58 am #579593
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54845
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    You are welcome 🙂

  • Author
    Posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • The topic ‘Marginal Costing’ is closed to new replies.

Primary Sidebar

ACCA News:

ACCA My Exam Performance for non-variant

Applied Skills exams is available NOW

ACCA Options:  “Read the Mind of the Marker” articles

Subscribe to ACCA’s Student Accountant Direct

ACCA CBE Exams – Instant Poll

How was your exam, and what was the exam result?

BT CBE exam was.. | MA CBE exam was..
FA CBE exam was.. | LW CBE exam was..

Donate

If you have benefited from OpenTuition please donate.

PQ Magazine

Latest Comments

  • TEDI on IAS 16 Property, plant and equipment – Initial Recognition – CIMA F1 Financial Reporting
  • ChanNV on Framework – measurement – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • ChanNV on IASB Conceptual Framework – Introduction – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Konstantinos43 on Financial Performance Measurement – Liquidity Measures – ACCA Management Accounting (MA)
  • Hirak.5 on ACCA TX-UK FA2025 Chapter 3 Property Income and Investments – Individuals

Copyright © 2026 · Contact · Advertising · OpenLicense · About · Sitemap · Privacy Policy · Cookie settings · Comments · Log in