• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams

  • ACCA
  • CIMA
  • FIA
  • OBU
  • Books
  • Forums
  • Ask AI
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • ACCA Forums
  • Ask ACCA Tutor
  • FIA Forums
  • CIMA Forums
  • OBU Forums
  • Qualified Members forum
  • Buy/Sell Books
  • All Forums
  • Latest Topics

Save 20% on ACCA & CIMA Books

Interactive BPP books for June 2026 exams, recommended by OpenTuition.
Get discount code >>

Joint Cost

Forums › Ask ACCA Tutor Forums › Ask the Tutor ACCA MA – FIA FMA › Joint Cost

  • This topic has 3 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by AvatarJohn Moffat.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • April 6, 2020 at 4:15 am #566605
    Avatarkonichan
    Member
    • Topics: 12
    • Replies: 7
    • ☆

    I’m confused with the answer (page 209) of question 8b.8 (page 66 in F2 Practice & Revision kit)
    The detail explaination which makes me confused is “calculate the gross profit earned using the gross profit margin given ($5,760×40/60 = $3,840)
    I don’t know where the number 40/60 comes from?
    Could you help me this, please?

    April 6, 2020 at 8:41 am #566624
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54843
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    You do not say which Revision Kit you are using – I think it must be the BPP kit. (Although it also seems that you are using an old version since it is no longer Paper F2 (it is Paper MA) and the question you are referring to is not on Pager 66 of the current edition.
    I mention this because appreciate that the syllabus for the exam has changed since last year.

    However I have found the question you are referring to. The question says that the gross profit margin is 40%. Therefore the profit is 40% of the sales, and so the cost must be 60% of the sales.
    So for every $60 of cost there is a profit of $40. So the profit is 40/60 times the cost.

    April 6, 2020 at 5:00 pm #566677
    Avatarkonichan
    Member
    • Topics: 12
    • Replies: 7
    • ☆

    I’ve got it.
    Thank you so much for helping me!
    Love your work.

    April 7, 2020 at 8:05 am #566711
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54843
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    You are welcome, and thank you for your comment 🙂

  • Author
    Posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • The topic ‘Joint Cost’ is closed to new replies.

Primary Sidebar

ACCA News:

ACCA My Exam Performance for non-variant

Applied Skills exams is available NOW

ACCA Options:  “Read the Mind of the Marker” articles

Subscribe to ACCA’s Student Accountant Direct

ACCA CBE Exams – Instant Poll

How was your exam, and what was the exam result?

BT CBE exam was.. | MA CBE exam was..
FA CBE exam was.. | LW CBE exam was..

Donate

If you have benefited from OpenTuition please donate.

PQ Magazine

Latest Comments

  • TEDI on IAS 16 Property, plant and equipment – Initial Recognition – CIMA F1 Financial Reporting
  • ChanNV on Framework – measurement – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • ChanNV on IASB Conceptual Framework – Introduction – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Konstantinos43 on Financial Performance Measurement – Liquidity Measures – ACCA Management Accounting (MA)
  • Hirak.5 on ACCA TX-UK FA2025 Chapter 3 Property Income and Investments – Individuals

Copyright © 2026 · Contact · Advertising · OpenLicense · About · Sitemap · Privacy Policy · Cookie settings · Comments · Log in