Skip to content

FIA Forums

CVP / Breakeven (Question)

SSeeta10y ago
A company has a single product with a contribution of sales ratio 40%. The total sales and net profit in a month were $200,000 and $10,000 respectively. the company has a target monthly profit of $16,000. What sales revenue is required to achieve monthly profit?
FFehmeed10y ago#1
Ans) $215,000 Workings: Using the given sales & profit figures, we can calculate CM. CM = 200,000 x 40% = $80,000 Since CM = FC + Profit, so, CM - Profit = FC 80,000 - 10,000 = $70,000 = FC For a target profit of $16,000, CM = FC + Target Profit CM = 70,000 + 16,000 CM = 86,000 For Sales Revenue, we'll simply divide CM by its %. Sales = 86,000/40% Sales = $215,000 Hope it helped you. If you have any query, feel free to ask.
CChris10y ago#2
Sir, what is CM? going through the note examples are not worked out how them do we get solutions? Also, is MA2 lectures not available?
Sign into reply to this topic.