• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams

  • ACCA
  • CIMA
  • FIA
  • OBU
  • Books
  • Forums
  • Ask AI
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • ACCA Forums
  • Ask ACCA Tutor
  • FIA Forums
  • CIMA Forums
  • OBU Forums
  • Qualified Members forum
  • Buy/Sell Books
  • All Forums
  • Latest Topics

Save 20% on ACCA & CIMA Books

Interactive BPP books for June 2026 exams, recommended by OpenTuition.
Get discount code >>

Cost Volume Profit Analysis

Forums › Ask ACCA Tutor Forums › Ask the Tutor ACCA PM Exams › Cost Volume Profit Analysis

  • This topic has 3 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by AvatarJohn Moffat.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • May 4, 2018 at 9:37 pm #450128
    AvatarTom
    Member
    • Topics: 15
    • Replies: 15
    • ☆

    Dear Sir,

    I’m hoping you can help me with this one.
    Betis Limited is considering changing the way it is structured by asking its employed staff to become freelance. Employees are currently paid a fixed salary of $240,000 per annum, but would instead be paid $200 per day. On a typical working day, staff can produce 40 units. Other fixed costs are $400,000 per annum.

    The selling price of a unit is $60 and material costs are $20 per unit.

    What will be the effect of the change on the breakeven point of the business and the level of operating risk?

    Current contribution is $60-$40=20
    In the solution the answer is a new contribution of $60-$40-$5=35

    Can you please help me to understand how the new figure of 35 is logically calculated?

    Kind regards

    May 5, 2018 at 9:16 am #450186
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54843
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    The contribution is the selling price less the variable costs. If the staff become freelance, then wages become a variable cost (they are only paid when they are working, because they are freelance). Since the pay is $200 per day and they produce 40 units a day, then the variable labour cost is 200/40 = $5 per unit.

    Assuming that you have copied everything correctly then there is a typing error in the answer. The new contribution does equal 60 – 40 – 5, but this comes to $15 (and not $35).

    May 5, 2018 at 10:06 am #450204
    AvatarTom
    Member
    • Topics: 15
    • Replies: 15
    • ☆

    John, you are correct. The variable cost was 20 not 40. Thank you so much.

    May 5, 2018 at 2:28 pm #450223
    AvatarJohn Moffat
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 54843
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    You are welcome 🙂

  • Author
    Posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • The topic ‘Cost Volume Profit Analysis’ is closed to new replies.

Primary Sidebar

ACCA News:

ACCA My Exam Performance for non-variant

Applied Skills exams is available NOW

ACCA Options:  “Read the Mind of the Marker” articles

Subscribe to ACCA’s Student Accountant Direct

ACCA CBE Exams – Instant Poll

How was your exam, and what was the exam result?

BT CBE exam was.. | MA CBE exam was..
FA CBE exam was.. | LW CBE exam was..

Donate

If you have benefited from OpenTuition please donate.

PQ Magazine

Latest Comments

  • TEDI on IAS 16 Property, plant and equipment – Initial Recognition – CIMA F1 Financial Reporting
  • ChanNV on Framework – measurement – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • ChanNV on IASB Conceptual Framework – Introduction – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Konstantinos43 on Financial Performance Measurement – Liquidity Measures – ACCA Management Accounting (MA)
  • Hirak.5 on ACCA TX-UK FA2025 Chapter 3 Property Income and Investments – Individuals

Copyright © 2026 · Contact · Advertising · OpenLicense · About · Sitemap · Privacy Policy · Cookie settings · Comments · Log in