• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition

Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams

  • ACCA
  • CIMA
  • FIA
  • OBU
  • Books
  • Forums
  • Ask AI
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • ACCA Forums
  • Ask ACCA Tutor
  • FIA Forums
  • CIMA Forums
  • OBU Forums
  • Qualified Members forum
  • Buy/Sell Books
  • All Forums
  • Latest Topics

Save 20% on ACCA & CIMA Books

Interactive BPP books for June 2026 exams, recommended by OpenTuition.
Get discount code >>

Break Even point

Forums › Ask ACCA Tutor Forums › Ask the Tutor ACCA PM Exams › Break Even point

  • This topic has 3 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by AvatarIAW3005.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • February 15, 2024 at 4:18 pm #700429
    Avatariyamu
    Participant
    • Topics: 286
    • Replies: 171
    • ☆☆☆

    John sells pushchairs on eBay. He buys the pushchair from China at a wholesale price of £350 and resells them for £450. He also needs to store them before they are buying dispatched so he rented a garage space for £800 a month.
    a. What is the equation to calculate the profit?
    b. How many pushchairs does John need to sell to break even?
    c. If John were to sell 23 pushchairs, what would be his profit/loss?

    (a) Selling price – Cost (£450-£350) = £100
    profit = £100
    fixed cost = 800 per month

    (b) to break even , sales = costs , where there is no profit or loss.
    units to be sold to break even in unit = fixed costs/contribution per unit = 800/100= 8 units
    (c) 23*450 per units = £10,300 as sales revenue
    10,300-8050( 350 costs per unit of pushchairs * 23) = £2,250.

    Sir please, is this correct ?

    but answers from the book differes

    February 15, 2024 at 5:57 pm #700442
    AvatarIAW3005
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 1615
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    = profit (£450 – £350) * 23 – £800
    = (£100 * 23) – £800
    = £2300 – £800
    = £1500

    February 18, 2024 at 8:49 am #700582
    Avatariyamu
    Participant
    • Topics: 286
    • Replies: 171
    • ☆☆☆

    Profit equation = Total income – total expendition

    Thank you sir , i forget to account for the fixed cost
    £100*23-£800= £1500.

    Breakeven in units = £800/£100= 8 units meaning the business must sell minimum of 8 units per month to break even.

    February 18, 2024 at 9:13 am #700585
    AvatarIAW3005
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 1615
    • ☆☆☆☆☆

    Your welcome

  • Author
    Posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Log In

Primary Sidebar

ACCA News:

ACCA My Exam Performance for non-variant

Applied Skills exams is available NOW

ACCA Options:  “Read the Mind of the Marker” articles

Subscribe to ACCA’s Student Accountant Direct

ACCA CBE Exams – Instant Poll

How was your exam, and what was the exam result?

BT CBE exam was.. | MA CBE exam was..
FA CBE exam was.. | LW CBE exam was..

Donate

If you have benefited from OpenTuition please donate.

PQ Magazine

Latest Comments

  • TEDI on IAS 16 Property, plant and equipment – Initial Recognition – CIMA F1 Financial Reporting
  • ChanNV on Framework – measurement – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • ChanNV on IASB Conceptual Framework – Introduction – ACCA Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Konstantinos43 on Financial Performance Measurement – Liquidity Measures – ACCA Management Accounting (MA)
  • Hirak.5 on ACCA TX-UK FA2025 Chapter 3 Property Income and Investments – Individuals

Copyright © 2026 · Contact · Advertising · OpenLicense · About · Sitemap · Privacy Policy · Cookie settings · Comments · Log in