Skip to content

Ask the Tutor ACCA FA

Bank Reconciliation

MMyara10y ago
Harry's annual inventory count took place on 6 Jan 20X6. The value of inventory on this date was $ 32,780. During the period from 31 Dec 20X5 to 6 Jan 20X6, the following events occurred: Sales $8,600 Purchases $4,200 The value of inventory at 31 Dec 20X5 was $ 34,600. What is the gross margin of Harry? The Answer is 30%. Solution : Sales at Selling price $8,600 Sales at Cost price $6,020 Profit $2,580 (2580/8600)*100 = 30% Can you please explain to me how do we get the Sales at Cost Price?
John MoffatJohn MoffatTutor10y ago#1
The cost of sales = opening inventory + purchases - closing inventory. So 34,600 + 4,200 - 32,780 = $6,020
Sign into reply to this topic.