OpenTuition | ACCA | CIMA
Free ACCA and CIMA on line courses | Free ACCA, CIMA, FIA Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums
Spread the word
If you have benefited from our materials, please spread the word so more students can benefit.
To help us keep materials up to do and add new content you can also donate
June 5, 2020 at 7:45 am
John Moffat says
June 5, 2020 at 9:41 am
You are welcome 🙂
May 22, 2020 at 5:13 am
therefore for every 100 of cost the Selling price is 125, i.e, 100/125*50=$40 and therefore target cost is $50-$40 = $10 is that correct?
May 22, 2020 at 8:35 am
I don’t know which example you are referring to. However on your figures, if they want a mark-up of 25% on cost and if the selling price is $50, then the target cost is $40 (not $10. $10 is the profit they want to make).
May 10, 2020 at 5:11 pm
Please sir I NEED TO KNOW HOW TO SOLVE THIS QUESTION the selling price of product ZIGMA is set to be $250 for each unit and sales for the coming year are expected to be 500 units if the company requires a return of 15%in the coming year on its investment of $250000in product ZIGMA the target cost for the coming year is how do i proceed with this question the choices are 145 155 165 175
May 12, 2020 at 4:47 am
Targeted revenue is 500 x $250 = $125000 The required ROI 15% from $ 250000 is $37500 Targeted cost is $125000-$37500 = $87500 Targeted cost per unit = $87500/500 units = $175
September 20, 2019 at 11:29 am
In Target Costing, you gave example of calculating TC when profit was 25% of/on Cost and you calculated by 25/125*50= $10.
Why here we are calculating by 100/150*10.5 = $7 ? Why not same as 50/150 * 10.50 = $3.5 TC ?
January 30, 2020 at 3:12 pm
You can also say,
TC= (125/100 )x = 50 TC= (100/125)50 = 40
February 13, 2020 at 4:01 pm
Why would we divide 50 by 150? The $50 is the realistic selling price. This is equal to cost + profit. We are told the profit we want is based on the cost. So we take the cost x as 100% and the profit as 25% this will give you the selling price at 125% x. We know this is $50 dollars so to get x we divide by 125/100 You could also have this as an equation. 1x + .25x = 50 1.25x = 50 x = 50/1.25 x=40
April 18, 2020 at 2:14 am
It’s very helpful, thank you.
April 18, 2020 at 9:36 am
December 12, 2018 at 7:06 pm
December 13, 2018 at 8:32 am
October 31, 2018 at 5:19 pm
whts is the easiest way to understand maxmin, Maximin. and Minimax
November 1, 2018 at 6:57 am
I do not understand why you have posted this as a comment on a lecture on target costing!!
Maximin etc. are all explained in my free lectures on risk and uncertainty.
October 2, 2018 at 2:49 pm
No, no – it is nothing like cost plus pricing!!
With cost plus pricing we start with the cost and add on a % to get the selling price. But there is then no incentive to reduce costs.
With target costing we start with a realistic selling price and then decide what the maximum cost has to be to be able to get the desired profit.
October 2, 2018 at 8:33 am
Thank you John. Based on your presentation target costing is effectively the same as conventional cost plus pricing. Why the target cost is always calculated on a per unit basis according to your explanation?
You must be logged in to post a comment.