Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition
Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams
Congratulations to Jamil from Pakistan and Jeeva from Malaysia - Global Prize winners!see all ACCA December 2022 Genius Hunt Competition winners >>
Specially for OpenTuition students: 20% off BPP Books for ACCA & CIMA exams – Get your BPP Discount Code >>
December 15, 2020 at 9:01 pm
Sir, in question 2, Extra cost to buy from Alpha should be calculated 4000*(350+240) right? Because both are costs and should be added.
June 20, 2020 at 2:46 pm
Dear Sir, could you please explain what is the external purchasing price on Q4 and Q5?As you explain, the maximum trasfer price = min(extenal purchasing price,net marginal revenue).But I do not find the external purchasing price in this question.Thank you
John Moffat says
June 20, 2020 at 5:45 pm
If you are not given an external purchase price then there isn’t one – i.e. they cannot buy externally, they can only by from the other division.
June 24, 2020 at 2:37 pm
Dear sir, there is 1 same sample In Revision kit bit I do not understand how to do.Please help me to explain: If the marginal cost of a transfer item is 5 usd and it has external intermediate market of 7 usd. And if the transferring in division can use the trasfered item to make an end product that earns contribution of 10 usd.What is the maximum transfer price?
June 24, 2020 at 4:32 pm
Please ask this in the Ask the Tutor Forum, and if it is the BPP Revision Kit then tell me the number of the question.
December 16, 2019 at 5:58 am
Thanks a lot Mr. John I have scored 100%. Very good clarity in lectures.
December 16, 2019 at 6:36 am
Thank you for your comment 🙂
November 29, 2019 at 3:37 pm
in Questions 5 and 6, why is the maximum price 50, and not 40? From what i’ve learned, the maximum price is the external price – internal savings (which in this case is 40).
November 29, 2019 at 7:32 pm
The maximum transfer price is the lower of any external purchase price and the net marginal revenue (which is the final selling price less marginal costs of that division).
I do suggest that you watch my free lectures where the ‘rule’ is explained in detail with examples.
September 30, 2019 at 8:10 am
hey! john , i got 80%. thank you for such great lecture
September 30, 2019 at 8:23 am
July 10, 2019 at 6:21 pm
Mr. John what if section P will not close? how can we deal with the fixed cost?
July 10, 2019 at 6:56 pm
Which question are you referring to?
September 30, 2019 at 8:09 am
yes, fixed cost would be added and answer would be option D that is 440000, i made that mistake of adding the fixed cost.
February 13, 2019 at 5:50 pm
i cant uderstand the problem 2 question… pls explain me the problem..
is this type of MCQ will be asked in exams? every chapter of MCQ on open tution test involves the standard exam questions ?
February 14, 2019 at 7:20 am
At the moment, the company is making the component itself (in division P) and it is costing the company $240 per unit. If they buy from Alpha they will instead be paying $350 per unit which is $110 per unit more.
However, because they would then be closing division P, they would save the fixed costs of $24,000 per year. The question is asking what the net affect will be on the companies profits.
Did you watch the lectures before attempting the test?
The test questions are certainly exam standard (although you need to practice many more questions which is why it is essential that you buy a Revision Kit from one of the ACCA approved publishers – they are full of exam standard questions to practice).
February 14, 2019 at 11:27 am
well understood the problem … thanks for solving it
i scored 85% on this MCQ..
October 27, 2019 at 6:23 pm
How come you had 85%? :/ not possible.
February 14, 2019 at 3:11 pm
You are welcome 🙂
August 31, 2018 at 9:11 am
sir in question 2 if Q didnt buy externally and i am assuming the SP is 1000 p.u co the total cost would be (240+396)p.u and the profit p.u is 364 but if Q bought externally at assuming the same SP 1000p.u and cost 350 giving a profit of 650 therefore there is a increase in profit of (650-364) kindly explain tome where i am going wrong? thanks
August 31, 2018 at 2:58 pm
I don’t think you can have watched the free lectures, because as far as the company as a whole is concerned the transfer price is irrelevant.
If they produce themselves then the cost is 240, if they buy externally the cost is 350. So the company would have extra cost of 110 per unit. However they would save the fixed overheads of 24,000.
I do suggest that you watch the free lectures.
May 18, 2018 at 8:48 am
kindly tell me ,,,,if division P closed the Fixed Cost which is specific to Division P will save …so why fixed cost deduct it rather than to add.
May 18, 2018 at 2:01 pm
Yes it will be saved. That is why it has been subtracted from the extra cost in order to calculate the net extra cost (which is then the decease in the profit).
March 4, 2018 at 4:45 pm
Question 3 is very tricky
March 4, 2018 at 6:08 pm
Well it would be if it were not for the fact that I work through an almost identical example in my free lectures on transfer pricing!! 🙂
Did you not watch the lectures before attempting the test?
November 14, 2017 at 3:05 pm
Thank you for the excellent work that you’ve done so far.
I wanted to ask: In question 2. I calculated the division P total profit ($396×4000) – MRG cost ( $250×4000) – Fixed costs (24000) = 600’000 Then from the total profit I subtracted the difference in the price (396-350)x4000 = 184000 Which results 416000 Decrease from total profit. Is this a correct way?
In question 3: I did this calculation: Variable cost of Y ($100) + (2 x $20) = $140 $20 — Contribution p.u of product X 2 — Since product y takes two times more to make (10/5) Is this also a correct way?
Thank you in advance
November 15, 2017 at 9:03 am
Thats fine. It does not matter how you do your workings – in Section A and B of the exam only your answer is marked, nobody looks at the workings 🙂
August 10, 2017 at 5:37 pm
Sir,I’m confusing in Q3 that we need more information about product X.I mean if X is over capacity or market demand surplus.I woud rather produce Y hence transfer price shoud be 130.(Sorry for my poor english presentation.Hope you understand)
May 9, 2017 at 11:22 am
I can’t view the questions. It is not loading. Please help
May 9, 2017 at 1:28 pm
It’s loading now.
May 9, 2017 at 3:17 pm
I am pleased you managed to sort it out 🙂
February 4, 2017 at 12:23 am
sir,with regard to question 3,my lost contribution is coming 10 because we have 10 hours to make 1 unit of y getting contribution of $3 per hour.As labour hours are limited so we would rather make x because we are getting $4 per hour but b division want y so we will give it y in marginal cost +lost contribution.In order to make y we need 10 labour hour giving contibution of $3 but instead if we make x getting contribution of $4 so all we lost is $1.It is making sense but giving answer wrong.please explain where i am wrong.
February 4, 2017 at 9:36 am
You have obviously not watched my lectures because I work through this example in the lectures (and explain). The lectures are a complete free course for F5 and cover everything needed to be able to pass the exam well.
They would indeed have only lost $1 per hour, but only if the transfer price had been $130. So as not to lose the $1 therefore, they need the transfer price to be 130 + (10 x 1) = $140
I do suggest that you watch the lectures before attempting the tests.
August 10, 2017 at 6:07 pm
As this way,Y should be shut down and never produced. Because external selling price is just 130.
January 11, 2017 at 9:50 am
The last question, about the transfer price at goal congruent,how did the minimun price arrive at 40 please??
Although I can see a 40 in the question, but I do not understand why its at 40
January 11, 2017 at 11:16 am
The minimum transfer price = marginal cost + any lost contribution.
The marginal cost is $30, and since there is limited capacity and unlimited external demand, there is a lost contribution of 40 – 30 = $10 from not being able to sell externally.
So a total of $40.
I do suggest that you watch my free lectures because I work through a virtually identical example (among lots of other examples on transfer pricing).
December 1, 2016 at 2:39 pm
I have a question on 5.
I thought the minimum transfer price the seller should have set is VC so £30+ any lost in contribution which is £40= 70 But the answers says that the minimum price Division A should charge is 40.
Could you explain?
December 1, 2016 at 2:47 pm
What I am thinking is that to get to the 40 I do VC+ LOST IN CONTR = 30+(40-30) = 40, is my procedure correct?
December 1, 2016 at 3:06 pm
No – you are not correct.
There is no lost contribution because A has unlimited production capacity, and there is limited external demand from A.
Therefore the minimum transfer price is simply the marginal cost.
There is only going to be lost contribution when the transferring division has limited production capacity.
(Have you watched my free lectures on transfer pricing? Because this example is virtually identical to one of the examples I work through (and explain) in my lectures.)
September 4, 2016 at 10:59 pm
Hey sir, Could you tell me how we arrived at maximum price of 50 as transfer price in the 4th question.
September 5, 2016 at 7:29 am
It is B’s net marginal revenue of $70 less $20.
(Did you watch my free lectures on transfer pricing first?)
September 6, 2016 at 5:16 pm
okay sir thank you.
September 6, 2016 at 5:36 pm
December 2, 2015 at 4:38 pm
Can you work through the question on the division selling products X and Y, where there is limited labour. It is not making sense to me. I am not sure I understand the question. Can you please walk through it.
The answer is taking the contribution per unit of the product we are not transferring and multiplying it by the hours spent making the product we are transferring,this is added to the maginal cost.
December 2, 2015 at 5:28 pm
If they were not transferring product Y then they would produce X instead and sell externally getting a contribution per hour of $4. If they do transfer Y then they need as always to cover the marginal cost (100) plus the lost contribution. Since each unit of Y takes 10 hours to make, they are losing contribution that could have been made from selling X of 10 x $4 = $40. Therefore the minimum transfer price has to be $140 per unit.
(It seems as though you are not bothering to watch the lectures, because I go through an almost identical example in the lecture.)
November 27, 2015 at 1:46 pm
Sir, could you explain how to arrive at the answer for question 3
April 30, 2020 at 9:25 am
In question 3, what if the contribution per hour of product Y was higher than X, what would the minimum transfer price be?
April 30, 2020 at 4:00 pm
April 30, 2020 at 3:58 pm
Hemraj:If they were not transferring product Y then they would produce X instead and sell externally getting a contribution per hour of $4. If they do transfer Y then they need as always to cover the marginal cost (100) plus the lost contribution. Since each unit of Y takes 10 hours to make, they are losing contribution that could have been made from selling X of 10 x $4 = $40. Therefore the minimum transfer price has to be $140 per unit.
November 24, 2015 at 10:27 am
cant view all the questions in full. the other part is cut.
November 24, 2015 at 11:07 am
it should be OK now
You must be logged in to post a comment.