Free ACCA & CIMA online courses from OpenTuition
Free Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums for ACCA and CIMA exams
Post and read comments and Instant poll >>
November 11, 2023 at 2:19 pm
Just want to confirm, initially we get breakeven revenue at 26,402
At the end of the lecture, why suddenly our breakeven revenue change to 23,400? When we want to see if it is close to new breakeven which is 21,108.
Is it a typo in the lecture of did i missed any calculation?
March 23, 2023 at 8:10 am
Dear Sir, Quiz question number 1, chapter 8 Cost Volume Profit . Selling price per unit is 28/70%. Please can you explain calculation for 70%? thank you
John Moffat says
March 23, 2023 at 8:24 am
The CS ratio is 30%. Given that the contribution is the selling price less the variable costs, then for every $100 the contribution is $30 and the variable costs must be $70, or 70% of the selling price.
If the variable cost is $28 and this is 70% of the sales, it means that the selling price must be 28/70%.
October 31, 2022 at 7:08 am
Hello Sir, In the above question we after calculating breakeven revenue = total fixed costs/ Weighted average CS ratio which gives the answer $26,402. my doubt is if after finding breakeven revenue we are asked to find breakeven units for each of the three products. How do we do it?
July 16, 2022 at 3:34 pm
It is because it is breakeven revenue that we are after.
July 17, 2022 at 7:16 am
Thanks a ton!
November 5, 2022 at 2:46 pm
Sir, what will be the sales unit at which the revenue will be zero?
November 5, 2022 at 4:08 pm
Zero!! Zero revenue means that they are not selling anything!!
July 16, 2022 at 1:19 pm
Respected Sir, in multi-product cvp analysis, when we’re trying to figure out the effects of selling products in preference to each other, we rank them according to their C/S ratios and not the contributions they’ve generated. Why is that the case? For example, if there are three products X whose contribution p.u. = $8 , C/S ratio =0.45, Y’s cont. p.u.=$6 , C/S ratio=0.5 and Z whose cont.p.u,=$3 , C/S ratio=0.33 why shoudn’t we produce X first? It generates the highest contribution per unit, so selling it first should make us reach the breakeven point even quicker and the if we ramp up its sales then we’ll be more profitable. But as the rule goes, we should produce Y first then X because it has the highest C/S ratio.
You must be logged in to post a comment.