OpenTuition | ACCA | CIMA
Free ACCA and CIMA on line courses | Free ACCA, CIMA, FIA Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums
Spread the word
If you have benefited from our materials, please spread the word so more students can benefit.
To help us keep materials up to do and add new content you can also donate
November 3, 2019 at 2:54 pm
john sir.. you are a damn good teacher.. the best one i ever had.. love from india
September 12, 2019 at 4:20 pm
Kindly answer this question. Since the example states we should use the marginal costing approach, why did we include the fixed overheads in the costing? Doesn’t marginal costing only deal with variable production costs?
John Moffat says
September 13, 2019 at 7:22 am
No – that is not true.
The profit is after charging all costs whichever method of costing is used.
With marginal costing we do not absorb the fixed overheads into the cost per unit – only the variable costs – and then subtract all the fixed costs for the period from the contribution to arrive at the profit.
With absorption costing we do absorb the fixed overheads into the cost per unit (but as a result, we are likely to have over or under absorbed the overheads and need to adjust).
I explain all of this in my free lectures on marginal and absorption costing.
April 22, 2019 at 4:20 pm
In future you must ask this kind of question in the Ask the Tutor Forum, and not as a comment on a lecture.
If at the moment they are using 75% of the capacity, then the total capacity is 60,000/75% = 80,000. Therefore to make 100,000 they will still pay the rent of 90,000 but in addition, for the extra 20,000 units they will have to pay 90,000/80,000 per unit.
April 23, 2019 at 2:57 am
I’m sorry sir & tqvm for your help
April 23, 2019 at 5:20 am
You are welcome 🙂
April 22, 2019 at 11:09 am
Hi sir, can u guide me through this question ? A company rents its factory for $90,000 per annum. This year 60,000 units have been manufactured in the factory utilising 75% of its total capacity. Next year the plan is to manufacture 100,000 units by using the existing factory at full capacity and by renting just sufficient additional capacity. The additional capacity is available at the same rental cost per square metre as the existing factory.
What is the budgeted total rental cost for next year? The answer is 112500
You must be logged in to post a comment.