OpenTuition.com Free resources for accountancy students
Free ACCA lectures and course notes | ACCA AAT FIA resources and forums | ACCA Global Community
ACCA F5 lectures Download OpenTuition F5 notes
October 7, 2015 at 12:16 am
Hi ,sir john Moffat thank you for another great lecture,you are amazing
John Moffat says
October 7, 2015 at 8:36 am
April 29, 2015 at 4:23 pm
I was practising few CVP questions from Kaplan and in one of the questions they asked to calculate the BE point in terms of Units and $ of revenue so if it is asked in exam and if I’m calculating BE in revenue terms do I have to calculate the CS ratio first and then divide fixed cost by CS ratio or can I do just multiply the BE units with the Selling price to reach the answer do I have to elaborate it or just multiply directly.
April 29, 2015 at 4:26 pm
It doesn’t matter which you do, but it will be more sensible to simply multiply the units by the selling price.
March 6, 2015 at 10:05 am
I am confused Here:
Currently: SP was 20. Vc was 8. Fc was 840000pa.
So breakeven was 840000/12 which is 70000units.
But When they carriedout newplant FC Has 1200000pa But Vc decreased to 5pu.
So Now breakeven was 1200000/20-5 which is 80000units.
Now if the Company Wanted to B/even same quantity as old the Selling Price would be like: 70000*X=1200000 which comes 17.14 for the Contribution PU. So 17.14+Vc 5 which is 22.14 will be the selling price.
The Next part is confusing for me: Please help me here more.
If the new plant is built, the company would wants to decrease its price to $19 to improve its competitive position.
i. At which quantity would profits of the old and the new plants be equal (assuming the price of a toaster is $20 for the old plant but $19 for the new)? How much would the profit be at this quantity?
ii. If sale are projected to reach 150,000 units per year in the near future, would you recommend construction of the new plant? Why or why not? (Assume that both plants have the capacity to produce this quantity.)
Can you please Tell me how to do this one. Please soon. Thankx
January 9, 2015 at 11:47 pm
How would I work this out,
‘The budgeted profit statement of a company, with all figures expressed as a percentage of revenue is as follows:
Variable cost 40
Fixed cost 20
If the sales volume turns out to be only 80% of that budgeted, the profit, expressed as a percentage of the revised revenue will be in %.’
January 10, 2015 at 11:31 am
Please ask questions like this in the Ask the Tutor Forum – not as comments on lectures.
January 9, 2015 at 10:22 pm
Could you please work this out: Revenue for Product A = $10m C/S ratio: 15%,
Product B: $20m C/S ratio: 10%
Total fixed cost: $5.5m and company wants to earn a profit of $1m
What is the revenue that needs to be generated by Product C, in million, to achieve the required profit?
July 15, 2014 at 4:07 am
Hi Sir, will I loose marks in exam if I use pen to draw graphs? The graph paper I am currently using to practice is very deep and the graph is not showing as clearly.
July 15, 2014 at 9:22 am
You have to use a black pen in the exam for everything, including for graphs.
July 15, 2014 at 10:33 am
Noted!Thank you Sir!
sneha g says
October 21, 2013 at 7:47 am
I am not attending any formal coaching… . I would like to know why many. Sites ask us to refer to the student articles . Why are these articles so important ? Does a certain percentage of the question paper happen to be from the articles ?
October 21, 2013 at 11:09 am
The articles in Student Accounting are always useful and worth reading – especially those by the examiner because it lets you know how they are thinking.
Although the articles are all obviously on topics in the syllabuses, each exam does not necessarily include topics covered in the articles.
October 21, 2013 at 5:14 pm
Oh okie Thankyou Sir …
April 17, 2013 at 1:25 pm
How to download this vedio? I cannt do it using realplayer
April 17, 2013 at 5:28 pm
Sorry, the videos are not downloadable. It is the only way that we can keep this site free of charge.
April 17, 2013 at 1:23 pm
in Arabic… ????
April 8, 2013 at 10:51 pm
April 7, 2013 at 10:00 am
Brilliant Tutor, Thank you Mr JM
March 17, 2013 at 7:48 am
great lecture…Thank you OT
February 19, 2013 at 8:04 am
Please any one can tell me if it is necessary to complete Professional ethics module to convert from FIA suite to ACCA qualification.
I have passed my FIA papers but still not converted to ACCA qalification from FIA suite.Please guide me what next to do…………………?
April 8, 2013 at 6:12 pm
Do Contact ACCA Office Directly and tell your situation, May be they will charge Transfer Fees
May 28, 2013 at 7:24 pm
Just contact to them or wait they will convert you automatically don`t need to worry as i was the same case last year i they converted me once the time reach..
February 4, 2013 at 11:50 am
breakeven point should be at the point where revenue line cross the fixed cost line and lose range would b under the fixed cost line? this is my understanding sorry!!!, but in lecture breakeven is being point out where total cost cross the total revenue? lost also showing same way?, Am really confuse about it!! i would be great full if you could explain it please. thx.
February 19, 2013 at 8:43 am
Your understanding is wrong.
Breakeven is when the profit is zero. Profit will be zero when the total revenue is equal to the total costs (fixed costs + variable costs).
I think that what you are confusing it with is that for zero profit, the total contribution will be equal to the fixed costs – contribution equals the revenue minus the variable costs.
You should watch the lecture again slowly.
November 15, 2012 at 4:26 am
Total Revenue = Total Contribution / CS Ratio
1320 / 0.67 = $ 1,970.00
(not $1,980.00, just to clear any confusion)
November 30, 2012 at 7:43 pm
@fabiangrey, it is not 0.67 but 0.66666666 a
October 26, 2012 at 7:51 pm
very useful lecture….
October 5, 2012 at 1:48 pm
Thanks for great lectures. Just wanted to ask how important is CVP for Dec 2012 exams, as i checked the exam kit and CVP doesn’t seem to appear in last 6 exam sessions though it appears as a part of the syllabus. I’m a bit confused.
February 19, 2013 at 8:44 am
Just because it is in the syllabus does not mean that it is examined every time.
It was examined in December 2012.
July 28, 2012 at 5:25 pm
thanx a lot open tution thanx a lot
May 31, 2012 at 6:22 pm
In break even chart, shouldn’t it be the line that crosses fixed cost line? In the lecture it highlights the line that crosses the variable cost line.
July 13, 2012 at 11:25 am
@yama, In a break even chart, break-even is where the total revenue line crosses the total cost line.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
OpenTuition.com is dedicated to providing all accountancy students throughout the world with the resources they need to study for the major … Learn more