OpenTuition.com Free resources for accountancy students
Free ACCA and CIMA on line courses | ACCA , CIMA, FIA Notes, Lectures, Tests and Forums
ACCA F2 / FIA FMA lectures Download ACCA F2 notes
May 7, 2018 at 3:56 pm
Thanks so much Sir, I finally understand the Market Value and NRV basis. Amazing and simple explanation!!
John Moffat says
May 8, 2018 at 5:34 am
Thank you for your comment 🙂
April 28, 2018 at 11:31 pm
Hello Sir , I just have one issue , if you please mention the questions also on ur lectures , it will be helpful , because on your lecture your only showing the answers , Kindly mention the questions also … so we could understand more clearly , Because I dont have F2 Book. Im studying from BPP notes.
April 29, 2018 at 12:48 pm
But at the beginning of every lecture you are told to download our free lecture notes.
The lectures are all indexed to the chapters in the lecture notes and the examples are all in the notes!!
February 5, 2018 at 1:12 pm
I cannot understand why do we have negative joint cost allocation under Constant Gross Margin Method?
February 5, 2018 at 4:36 pm
The joint cost allocation is not negative!!
It is simply that if we allocate the joint costs on physical units basis that the cost might be more than the selling price.
Please do watch the lecture again 🙂
December 23, 2017 at 12:38 pm
Dear Sir, what about the fact that using the physical units approach and market value gives rise to a different profit? Is this irrelevant to our exam?
December 24, 2017 at 9:47 am
In any one year the profit will be different because the inventory is valued differently, but in the long run the profit will be the same.
However it is irrelevant anyway – we are not doing financial accounts.
December 24, 2017 at 10:51 am
thank you for the response. I just assed the f3 and i guess I’m prone to still think in a financial accounting approach
December 24, 2017 at 2:43 pm
You are welcome
December 23, 2017 at 12:11 pm
hahahahahaha excellent! thank you for the lecture and for making my day!
September 24, 2017 at 6:56 pm
Goodday John Moffat,
I still cannot solve the following joint product question after watching your video. What if there are opening and closing WIP in the joint process, like the question below? How should I apportion joint cost to the joint products in this situation. Grateful if you can help solve the question below as I read many reference book but still cannot find a solution to it.
XYZ plc, a paint manufacturer, operates a process costing system. The following details related to process 2 for the month of October:
Opening work in progress 5000 litres fully complete as to transfers from process 1 and 40% complete as to labour and overhead, valued at £60000
Transfer from process 1 65000 litres valued at cost of £578500
Direct labour £101400
Variable overhead £80000
Fixed overhead £40000
Normal loss 5% of volume transferred from process 1,scrap value £2.00 per litre
Actual output 30000 litres of paint X (a joint product) 25000 litres of paint Y (a joint product) 7000 litres of by-product Z
Closing work in progress 6000 litres fully complete as to transfers from process 1 and 60% complete as to labour and overhead.
The final selling price of products X, Y and Z are: Paint X £15.00 per litre Paint Y £18.00 per litre Product Z £4.00 per litre
There are no further processing costs associated with either paint X or the by-product, but paint Y requires further processing at a cost of £1.50 per litre.
All three products incur packaging costs of £0.50 per litre before they can be sold.
Required:(a)Prepare the process 2 account for the month of October, apportioning the common costs between the joint products, based upon their values at the point of separation.
(b)Prepare the abnormal loss/gain account, showing clearly the amount to be transferred to the profit and loss account.
September 24, 2017 at 7:53 pm
You must ask this sort of question in the Ask the Tutor Forum, and not as a comment on a lecture.
September 25, 2017 at 1:55 am
Sorry, I have copied the content to the ask acca tutor forum. Hope if I can get your help, thanks.
September 25, 2017 at 7:43 am
You are welcome 🙂
June 20, 2016 at 9:03 am
do you have a lecture for job costing?
June 20, 2016 at 3:06 pm
No – it does not need a lecture because the principles are the same as covered in the existing lectures.
October 19, 2014 at 10:40 pm
Dear Sir, This costing method can be differ, like if the Joint Products valuation can be determined separately…even than the cost per unit will be calculated on equal part..or its purely management decision.
October 20, 2014 at 5:16 pm
Your question confused me a little bit.
If we could measure the costs for each product separately, then it would not be ‘joint products’. Joint products is where we cannot identify which bit of the costs relate to which product. In this case it is up to management to decide how they wish to split the costs between the products – there is no rule. For the exam, you just need the two methods that I go through in the lecture.
December 4, 2013 at 3:00 pm
Hi sir Could you explain the 20% on the closing inventory in the answer for this question. I do not understand how the 20% came about and it was not mentioned in the question
The question states: Two products (W and X) are created from a joint process. Both products can be sols immediately after split-off. There are no opening or work in progress. The following information is available for last period:
Total joint production cost $776 160 Product W Production Units 12000 Sales 10 000 Selling price per unit $10
Product X Prod. units 10 000 Sales 8 000 Selling price per unit $12
Using the sales value method of apportioning joint production costs, what was the value of the closing inventory of product X for last period
The answer states 12 000 * 10 = 120 000 10 000 * 12 = 120 000 X= 776 160/2 = 388080 20% of X is closing 388080 * 20% = 77616
December 4, 2013 at 3:20 pm
The production of X is 10000 units, of which 8,000 are sold. This leaves 2,000 units in inventory, which is 20% of the production. So it is valued at 20% of the cost of production.
December 4, 2013 at 3:23 pm
Thanks very much for your prompt response.
October 15, 2013 at 2:00 am
thank you johnmoffat
October 14, 2013 at 5:49 pm
Goodday Johnmoffat. I would appreciate u help with this Question
A Co. Operates a Proces that produces two Joints Products-P & Q. Last month Joints Cost of $35,000 were incurred and the Organisation apportions these costs to Joints Products using the sales Value Method.
Data relation to last month were are follows
Product P -Production 12000kg; Sales 10000kg; selling Price per kg $5.00
Product Q -Production 8000kg, Sales 9000kg; selling price per kg $10.00
How much of the joint cost were apportioned to Product P last month
October 14, 2013 at 6:25 pm
The sales value of P’s production is 12,000 x $5 per kg
The sales value of Q’s production is 8000 x $10 per kg.
You apportion the joint cost on the basis of the sales values of production as above
November 25, 2013 at 3:07 am
My Answer as per below : Joint Cost were apportioned to the Product P is $12,500.00 based on the question request, using the “Sales Value Method “the working as per below : Product P = 10,000 kg X$5.00 = $ 50,000.00 Product Q = 9,000 kg X $10.00 = $ 90,000.00 Total $140,000.00
so Joint cost for the Product P = 50000/140000 X $35,000.00 = $12,500.00 Please correct me
November 25, 2013 at 6:41 am
My answer above is correct.
The joint costs are apportioned on the sales value of the units produced (not the units sold).
December 12, 2017 at 1:22 pm
Sir, may I know why sales value method uses production units instead of units sold?
And for net realizable value method, will we use production units instead of sold units as well? Thank you sir
December 13, 2017 at 6:28 am
Because it is the production costs that are being apportioned. Just imagine that they didn’t sell anything at all in this period (they were all in inventory and sold in the next period) – they would still have cost money to produce 🙂 Same with the NRV approach.
December 16, 2012 at 4:17 pm
lots lots of thanx for the nice lecture & diagram explanation but i have some concept not clear
of joint product &by-product in bbp we have 2 Question it mention b-product sales revenue is credited to the process account here in this question we deduct the the by-product amount from total joint cost
Another question it mentioned the by -product is credited to the sales account there we r not deducting the by-product amount from total joint product amount plz explain me this thanx
December 16, 2012 at 4:21 pm
this also a by -product of 1000 kg which has a commerciAL value of $ 600 what commercial value means selling price or wht ?
December 17, 2012 at 1:44 pm
@admirableprinces, There is no ‘law’ about how to deal with a by-product. Usually we subtract the value of the by-product from the total join costs (which is the same as crediting the process account). However, if the question says to treat the revenue as sales then you do what you are told, and in this case we do not reduce the join cost.
Commercial value is the same as sales value.
M. Osman Kamran says
September 23, 2012 at 12:47 pm
August 17, 2012 at 3:37 pm
i like it very much…
June 16, 2012 at 10:09 am
Great explanation on joint products!
May 22, 2012 at 2:29 am
April 21, 2012 at 1:22 pm
excellent,such a simple explanation
April 6, 2012 at 3:39 am
great…. explanation can’t be any easier
February 22, 2012 at 6:26 pm
Great stuff, sir. Haven’t seen anything better.
You must be logged in to post a comment.